Move Over Butter! (Introducing My New Favourite Fat)

not any more!

not any more!

In case you haven’t heard, I’m doing the Whole30 this month (don’t worry, this isn’t another post about that) and thus I am forbidden butter.

At first I handled it like a pro – I cried, I laughed hysterically, I fell to my knees and cursed the universe.

Then I went searching for other, tasty, fats.

And my search lead me to this….

well hello there

well hello there

Ducks are usually found idling around in ponds or lakes (lazy beasts), and, as you’d expect, their bodies are especially suited to hanging about in all that water – they have lots of fat to ensure they are naturally buoyant.

Nature’s inflatable rafts, if you will.

This fat is one of the best poultry fats you can use – it’s stable at high temperatures, lower in polyunsaturated fatty acids than chicken and makes everything delicious.

Ok, so that last one wasn’t exactly science but it’s true! Don’t be afraid to use duck fat with veggies and meats, it won’t leave everything tasting of duck, I promise. The flavour is extremely subtle.

in their defence, it could be a chicken

in their defence, it could be a chicken

It’s commonly used to fry potatoes but white spuds are out for me at the moment (thanks Whole30, thanks a lot) so I cannot verify how good those are. Instead I’ve been using it in the following ways:

  • fried plantains
  • slathering on a chicken before roasting (a bit incestuous but worth it for the crispy, salty skin)
  • fried eggs
  • roast parsnips

I think I might even go crazy and use it to make mayo.

Weigh in: What’s your favourite fat for cooking? Do you use duck fat? What for?

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Move Over Butter! (Introducing My New Favourite Fat)

  1. I am amazed at how you can write such a funny and interesting article on the subject of duck fat! In all this time I still haven’t come around to using lard or duck fat yet, but this article (especially the donald duck reference) may just have convinced me to give it a try!

  2. Good luck to you on the Whole30! I did one last month. It was good. I did not use any duck fat. But now I’m going to have to try it. Thanks for the tip. Love that Donald Duck pic BTW!

  3. When I’m on a Whole 30 my go-to fat is typically ghee. I make it myself–it’s super easy. I love the nutty/caramely flavor it has!

  4. Pingback: Sticky Garlic Wings | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

