Pan-fried Chicken Livers with Garlic & Shallots

yeah, there's no way to make liver look good...sorry

yeah, there’s no way to make liver look good…sorry

Liver is something I struggle to get in my diet…I mean, c’mon, it’s liver.

But I’m trying to get better because of all the wonderful health benefits that come with eating such a gnarly organ.

Since the chicken I roast for our Sunday dinner comes with its own liver handily packed inside the chest cavity (let’s ignore the horror of that and move on), there’s no excuse.

I was going to include a picture of the raw liver here but thought better of it. You get some lovely herbs instead

I was going to include a picture of the raw liver here but thought better of it. You get some lovely herbs instead

So last Sunday I fried it up with some garlic, shallots and fresh herbs.

It’s the ultimate chicken liver dish for those who hate chicken livers (me included). You need plenty of flavour to balance out the gamey taste and this delivers.

organ meat goodness

organ meat goodness

Sadly though that still doesn’t stop me feeling like Hannibal Lecter when I eat it. Especially when it’s served with some fava beans and a nice chianti.

Pan-fried Chicken Livers with Garlic & Shallots (serves 2)

  • 4 oz chicken livers, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 tbsp duck fat (or butter)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, finely sliced
  • 1 tsp fresh parsely, finely chopped
  • 2 tsps fresh thyme
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  1. Heat the fat in a saucepan over a medium heat. Add the shallot and garlic and fry until the onion softens.
  2. Season the chicken liver, then add it to the pan and fry 3-4 minutes until cooked through and browned on all sides.
  3. Sprinkle over the lemon juice, then the parsley and thyme. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

5 thoughts on “Pan-fried Chicken Livers with Garlic & Shallots

  1. I’m another person who struggles to eat liver… or any other ‘offal’, for that matter! Your dish actually looks nice though. I like the idea of the herbs and garlic. Still not sure if I could stomach the raw preparation of the organs (ah, I really shouldn’t be so closed-minded if I want to be a serious cook, right?!)

  2. I happen to love beef liver or chicken livers so I know what helps to get rid of the strong taste! Pre-soak the liver in milk for an hour or so. This trick is also good for any wild game such as venison. Chicken liver pate is delicious and we make it for holidays and share with the neighbors too.

Leave a Reply

