Chicken & Avocado Twice Baked Sweet Potato

carbtastic!

carbtastic!

When I was little baked potato night was my favourite night.

My mother let us choose our own toppings (I was a cheese and bacon fan) and the potato skins would always be crisp, crunchy and salty.

Despite the fact that I’m now…ahem…just into my thirties, my tastebuds remain roughly 10 years old.

mash well so that you're not stuck with lumpy bits of avocado

mash well so that you’re not stuck with lumpy bits of avocado

Weekly baked potato night is something I’d like to instil in our house, but then I embarked upon the Whole30 and that idea needed some adjustment.

If I weren’t shunning dairy at the moment, I’d be loading this sucker up with cheese….but it’s damn good even without.

I wasn’t too sure about using avocado as the mixing agent (I’d normally go for mayo or sour cream) but it works and gives it that creamy hit that’s essential to every good mash.

Chicken & Avocado Twice Baked Sweet Potato (serves 2)

  • 2 large sweet potatoes, scrubbed clean
  • 1 cup shredded cooked chicken
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 green onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, ghee or butter
  1. Melt the oil, ghee or butter and brush over the potatoes so the entire skin is covered. Generously season with sea salt then prick all over a few times. Bake at 420 for 45mins, until insides are soft and squishy.
  2. Carefully remove from the oven, slice lengthways, scoop out the insides (being careful not to rip the skin) and put the potato in a bowl. Put the empty shells back into the oven to crisp up further while you are mashing.
  3. Add the avocado to the potato, season well and mash vigorously. Stir in the chicken and green onions.
  4. Transfer the mash back into the potato skins and return to the oven for ten more minutes until they brown.

Like this? You might also like:

23 thoughts on “Chicken & Avocado Twice Baked Sweet Potato

  1. These days I am so obsessed with sweet potatoes recipes and actually looking for such great recipes made from sweet potatoes. One more recipe is added into my list. Thanks for sharing it! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Link Love | Hy-vee Health State of Mind

  3. Pingback: Warm up your diet for fall fertility | Omaha Integrative Care

  4. Pingback: Balsamic Sweet Potato Salad with Toasted Walnuts | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Chili Crab Avocado Boat | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Avocado & Garlic Mayo | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: 29 Amazing Paleo Chicken Recipes | Paleo Grubs

  8. Pingback: Breakfast Scramble Avocado Cups | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Paleo Challenge Day 4 Recap | Fueled By Fresh

  10. Pingback: Grown Up Baby Food - twice baked stuffed sweet potatoes

  11. Pingback: 100 Healthiest Paleo Diet Recipes of All-Time | Paleo Grubs

  12. Pingback: Crispy Potato Skins | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Red Onion & Cheddar Cheese Parsnip Gratin | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

