Homestyle Baked Jicama Fries

not like your usual fries

not like your usual fries

The check-out girl eyed me suspiciously and poked the jicama as if it were an explosive potato.

“What’s this?” she growled.

“Jicama,” I sighed. “It’s that one,” I pointed to a helpful picture of a jicama on her produce sheet.

She rang it up, but not before shooting me the kind of look you’d reserve for people with dangerous root vegetable perversions.

I can’t blame her. Just a few years ago this Irish girl had no earthly clue what a jicama was either.

I'm open to suggestions about other funky root veg to try

I’m open to suggestions about other funky root veg to try

I was a bit disappointed in jicama to be honest…but I think that’s more to do with my poor expectation management than the actual veg.

See, the thing is, I expected french fries. Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside.

Jicama isn’t that type of vegetable. It retains its crunch and it takes a long time to fry up to the desired crispyness.

Once you get over that hurdle it’s a good substitute – a fraction of the carbs, low glycemic index and high in vitamin C.

Homestyle Baked Jicama Fries

  • 1 jicama
  • 3 tbsps bacon fat or coconut oil, melted
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  1. Peel the jicama and cut it into chunky oblongs (my fries were about half an inch thick).
  2. Pat dry with a paper towel to absorb any excess moisture.
  3. Toss in the fat and liberally season with salt and pepper.
  4. Arrange on a greased or lined baking tray. Bake at 400 for 40 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “Homestyle Baked Jicama Fries

Leave a Reply

