Refried Beans

I used aduki beans simply because I had them in the house. You could also try kidney, pinto or black beans

I used aduki beans simply because I had them in the house. You could also try kidney, pinto or black beans

How do married couples keep the magic alive?

They don’t.

Despite what Hollywood and women’s magazines would have you believe, there’s no magic to marriage. There’s just love, persistence, patience, faith and compromise (but those aren’t sexy enough to sell romcoms).

And that’s why, when hubs asked if we could have nachos for dinner I said “yes”.

it may not look like it, but this is a pot of marital bliss

it may not look like it, but this is a pot of marital bliss

I said yes despite wanting us both to eat healthier, avoid grains, get more vegetables in our diets and sit down to meals that don’t have fried corn chips as the base ingredient.

I said yes because I love him and forcing us to stick slavishly to a diet (any diet) isn’t the way to mutual contentment.

That said, I was going to make those nachos as healthy as I possibly could…so I made all the various components myself -from the guacamole to the refried beans.

I used canned beans for the convenience but if you really want to earn some brownie points get the beans, soak them for at least 24 hours and then boil ’em up yourself. It’s time consuming but at least you’ll avoid the BPA commonly found in canned foods.

Refried Beans (serves 3-4)

  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tsps cumin
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1 can aduki beans
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsps chicken (or vegetable) stock
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan. Add the onion and garlic and fry gently for five minutes.
  2. Add the beans and stir in the spices. Pour in the stock and cook over a medium heat for 10 minutes, stirring frequently.
  3. Using the stirring spoon, lightly mash the beans as they warm through.
  4. Once heated through and chunky enough for your taste, season well and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Refried Beans

  1. Yum! Some nachos here and there can do no harm. 🙂 Love your point about marriage too. I think if people expect to feel magical all the time, you’re setting yourself up for disappointment. But on the other hand, after being with my husband for almost 6 years, our relationship is so much deeper, closer, and more loving than it was in the beginning nervous butterflies stage. And that’s darn exciting too. 🙂

  2. Do you know Mitch Hedberg’s joke?
    “I like refried beans. That’s why I wanna try fried beans, because maybe they’re just as good and we’re just wasting time. You don’t have to fry them again …”

    • I hear you, it’s not always easy being an expat. There are some things I really miss from home too 😦 On the bright side, I’ve been introduced to all kinds of foods that aren’t available in my native turf like plantain, cassava and rutabaga. You win some, you lose some 🙂

Leave a Reply

