Pecan Molasses Mini-Muffins

they store well so make lots and eat like a king all week!

they store well so make lots and eat like a king all week!

You guys, these muffins tasted like toffee.

Warm, nutty toffee!

they smelt amazing fresh from the oven too

they smelt amazing fresh from the oven too

They are the perfect answer to anyone who tells you: “eating gluten-free is a joyless masochistic, depressing way to live.”

Feed those fools these muffins…then tell them they’re gluten-free, grain-free and (if you replace the butter with coconut oil) dairy-free.

eat ALL the muffins

eat ALL the muffins!

Before you know it, you’ll have converted another soul to the gluten-free bandwagon.

Alternatively, you could keep your mouth shut and eat all these yourself.

MINE!

MINE!

Pecan Molasses Mini-Muffins (makes 12)

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans
  • 3 tbsps blackstrap molasses
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  1. Whisk together the butter, eggs and molasses.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring until it forms a thick, runny batter (coconut flour is a difficult flour to work with, check out some tips here).
  4. Fold in the pecans.
  5. Spoon about a tbsp into small (I used 4cm) muffin cups. It should stretch to 12. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

28 thoughts on “Pecan Molasses Mini-Muffins

  1. Pingback: 41 Sweet & Savory Grain-Free Paleo Muffins | Paleo Grubs

  2. Pingback: Banana & Cranberry Breakfast Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

    • Hi Adrienne, sorry for the delay (I was away for the holidays!). I don’t think it’d be a straight swop unfortunately. Coconut flour is a very unique flour and doesn’t behave like any others. If you do give it a go, I’d eyeball your batter carefully and perhaps cut down on the amount of eggs. Good luck!

  3. Have you tried subbing in the coconut oil for the butter? The last recipe for muffins I made using coconut oil came out a little greasy, but these sound really good and I’d like to try again.

    • I sometimes use coconut oil, and sometimes butter. It really depends on what I have at hand. Yes, sometimes the oil can be greasy. Try using a little less (testing the batter as you go) or perhaps doing a half and half split with butter/ghee?

  4. Reblogged this on Paleo Crew and commented:
    Molasses is also a source of minerals. It has an interesting history. It is actually the byproduct of refining sugar cane/beets. I would definitely use blackstrap molasses. However, unlike refined sugars, it contains significant amounts of vitamin B6 and minerals, including calcium, magnesium, iron, and manganese; one tablespoon provides up to 20% of the recommended daily value of each of those nutrients. Blackstrap is also a good source of potassium.[3] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blackstrap_molasses) I like to use a teaspoon of molasses in my plain full fat yoghurt once in a while. I love this recipe. I have pecan’s and molasses. I give it try.

    • Hi Ace. I’m sorry but I’ve no idea. I believe there are calorie counting programmes available for free online but haven’t tried any so can’t point you to a specific one. Sorry I’m not more help.

  5. Thanks for these! I made the pecan mini muffins without pecans (cuz I didn’t have any). It was my first try using coconut flour and I followed your advice to sift the flour first. I had no problems; they came out great! Kids loved them and, because I also used fresh eggs from our backyard flock of hens, I feel very good about our breakfast this morning!
    🙂

  6. Pingback: Ricotta & Honey Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  7. I wanted to try something new for breakfast this morning and found this recipe. Unfortunately, I did not have any molasses and used raw honey instead. I love this recipe, the muffins came out really good. I am enjoying them with a cup of coffee as I am typing this comment. Thank you so much.

  8. Toffee-tasting muffins sounds awesome! Could you do this in a full-size muffin pan? If so, how many do you think it would be? I’m also thinking about omitting pecans in the batter (or just have less pecans) and decorate the cupcakes with frosting and roasted pecans instead. Would that be possible or does the batter need the pecans to be OK?

    • You can definitely omit the pecans, Honey, it won’t make a difference to the batter. I love the sound of your version – go for it!

      I’m not entirely sure how many large muffins it would make but I’d guess that 2 mini-muffins = 1 large muffin (that’s the kind of math I like!). I’d double the batter because, hell, it’s not like you won’t want to eat more of them.

Leave a Reply

