Stuffed Plantain Dumplings

hubs thought they were chickpeas at first - I think the texture threw him off

hubs thought they were chickpeas at first – I think the texture threw him off

Hubs and I went to Cuba about three years ago, back when I was still a pescatarian.

Neither of us spoke any Spanish at the time (I’m halfheartedly doing a Rosetta course now so know a few bits and pieces) and trying to explain our dietary preferences was tough.

the aromatic filling

the aromatic filling

“Sin carne! Pez? Pescado?” I said in vain to the overly enthusiastic waiter who nodded vigorously and returned 20 minutes later to slide a plate in front of me.

A brown, crispy lump of something stared back at me.

yes, I know. I missed my calling as a hand model

yes, I know. I missed my calling as a hand model

“What is this?” I whispered to hubs who shrugged and suggested that I slice it open and perform an autopsy to give us some clues.

It turned out to be deep fried fish, stuffed with a layer of cheese and, under that, some gristly meat.

plantains, or as I like to call them, "weird-ass bananas"

plantains, or as I like to call them, “weird-ass bananas”

So when I asked for something on the menu without meat, he’d brought me meat…inside a cheesy ball of fish.

Good job there was plenty of the ubiquitous Cuban side dish – old, reliable plantains.

they're awesomely versatile too

they’re awesomely versatile too

Stuffed Plantain Dumplings (makes 6 small dumplings )

*adapted from Reza Mahammad

  • 2 large, green plantains
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp fresh coriander/cilantro
  • 1 tsp ginger root, grated
  • 1 green chili, de-seeded and finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  1. Cut the plantains into thirds and, keeping the skin on, place in a pot of boiling water.
  2. Boil for 20 minutes until tender then remove and let cool. Peel off the skin and transfer to a large mixing bowl. Mash until smooth and season well.
  3. Combine the cilantro, ginger, chili, garlic, salt and cumin in a bowl.
  4. Grab a tbsp of the mixture and make a small well in the centre.  Place about a tsp’s worth of the spice mix into the centre of the mashed plantain then roll up into a ball. Repeat until the plantain is used up.
  5. Add the coconut oil to a heavy bottomed frying pan. Heat then carefully add the plantain dumplings to the pan. Fry until golden, turning to ensure they get crispy on all sides.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

12 thoughts on “Stuffed Plantain Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Beef & Plantain Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Stuffed Shallots | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Mofongo (fried plantain balls) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

