Pancetta, Feta & Scrambled Eggs

perfect for Sunday brunch...or breakfast in bed if you're really lucky

perfect for Sunday brunch…or breakfast in bed if you’re really lucky

With my birthday just around the corner, it’s clear that senility is already setting in as I keep coming home from the supermarket with things I don’t even remember buying.

Last week it was pancetta.

What was I thinking? I thought to myself. I’m not even sure what part of the pig that is.

Spoiler alert: it’s the belly.

and everyone knows the belly is the most delicious part

and everyone knows the belly is the most delicious part

On our tiny Caribbean island it’s hard to find good quality meats so sometimes, when I see organic deli meat at a reasonable price, I go a bit crazy and come home with armfuls of the stuff.

After staring at it dolefully for a few days I finally bit the bullet and decided to treat it like bacon.

And what does one do with bacon?

Why, serve it up as delicious brunch fare of course!

apparently pancetta is just bacon, without the curing part

apparently pancetta is just bacon, without the curing part

And so it was that my pancetta found a home amongst some crumbled feta, scrambled eggs and fresh parsley.

The overall effect was quite pleasing but I’m still eager to experiment so if you’ve a favourite pancetta recipe please let me know in the comments.

Pancetta, Feta & Scrambled Eggs (serves 2)

  • 1/2 cup (or 2oz) pancetta, chopped
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  1. Melt the butter in a large frying pan. Add the pancetta and gently fry for a few minutes until it colours.
  2. Beat the eggs together with the milk, black pepper and parsley.
  3. Pour the eggs into the frying pan and stir. Cook over a medium heat, stirring occasionally until the eggs solidify.
  4. Toss over the feta crumbles then transfer to a plate and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

4 thoughts on “Pancetta, Feta & Scrambled Eggs

  1. Pingback: Parsley & Dill Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

