Reviewing UnDiet

the anti-diet book

if you’re stuck in a masochistic diet loop you need this book in your life

Any cookbook called UnDiet was bound to get my attention.

To know me is to know that I’m vehemently opposed to the whole concept of dieting, having been down that masochistic road more than once in my foolish youth.

Eating well isn’t a diet, it’s a way of life. It’s about nourishment, not deprivation and the ultimate goal isn’t weight loss but good health.

Meghan Telpner, certified nutritionist and author of UnDiet, agrees.

And that’s why, when her people asked my people* if I’d like to review UnDiet for the blog, I jumped at the chance.

*Side note: I have no people (unless you count Dog, which I don’t as he is a very poor assistant – his telephone manner is appalling and he tends to fall asleep on the job)

So review it already!

Quite right, back to the book.

I opened UnDiet expecting a cookbook. In reality it’s much more than that.

Although there are 35 (count ’em!) gluten-free and mostly plant-based recipes, they are scattered throughout the text and the emphasis is on healthy living as a whole, not just the food.

Meghan shares her history with illness – a three year battle which culminated in her being diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease – and how she rejected the advice of her doctors (“Drink your milkshakes, eat your cheeseburgers. Nothing you eat is going to affect the prognosis of your disease”) to heal herself through eating real food and adopting healthier habits.

the lovely Meghan, courtesy of her facebook page

the lovely Meghan, courtesy of her facebook page

Then she expands on the importance of eating whole, unprocessed foods, finding an exercise you love, de-stressing, getting a support network in place and avoiding hormone-disrupting chemicals.

At the back of the book there’s a 7-day meal plan and an 8-week transition program for those type-As who love their charts and schedules (no judgement here, I’ve been known to colour code my shopping lists).

Although Meghan and I differ very slightly in our approach to diet (I’m a committed meat eater, dairy lover and big fan of animal fats), I cannot fault her premise – say it with me – Just. Eat. Real. Food.

she also says smart stuff, like this

she says lots of other smart stuff, like this

Who’s it for?

UnDiet is ideal for anyone wanting to make the change to a healthier lifestyle, but not quite sure how to start.

It covers everything from how to choose your food (with a very helpful section on decoding food labels), the best alternative sweeteners and tips for stretching your food budget to advice on how to go DIY with your beauty products (there’s a recipe for a delicious-sounding Avocado Chocolate Face Mask that I’m dying to eat try).

And, just as importantly, it’s a fun read. Meghan is honest, warm and accessible. This isn’t some joyless harridan beating you over the head with things you SHOULD BE DOING. It’s a friend, giving well-researched, sensible and practical advice.

I’ll be passing my copy on to my acupuncturist (who has had her share of digestive issues) and my mother (who needs this kind of book in her life, if only to validate all the ‘nutty’ health advice I’ve been giving her over the years).

I was lucky enough to receive a free copy of UnDiet so I could review it. I have not been compensated in any other way for this post. If you’re interested in getting your hands on a copy of UnDiet, head over to Amazon. For more information on Meghan, visit her website here.

3 thoughts on “Reviewing UnDiet

  1. Pingback: UnDiet Is the Best health book ever

  2. Pingback: Bored of Breakfast? Good Morning Paleo Has You Covered | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

