Tahini & Cashew Nut Chicken Salad

creamy, nutty, good

creamy, nutty, good

Nut butters of all kinds have a special place in my heart.

Swirled into yoghurt, spread on crackers, licked from a spoon….just get it IN MY BELLY.

But this post came about quite accidentally. You see, I’d meant to buy sunflower seed butter but grabbed a jar of tahini instead and only realised my error when I got it home.

excuse my manky whisk. It's on my kitchen to-buy list

excuse my manky whisk. It’s on my kitchen to-buy list

No harm, no foul though, as people who like sports metaphors say (I don’t know those people, but I hear they exist).

Stirred together with a few of my favourite ingredients, it makes for an unusual and tasty chicken salad.

adding the finishing touches

adding the finishing touches

If you don’t do dairy, you can omit the sour cream in favour of mayo. I don’t think anything will be lost in the translation.

If you don’t do nuts then omit the cashews.

And if you don’t do chicken then there’s no help for you. I can only recommend this delightful vegetarian blog and send you on your merry way.

Tahini & Cashew Nut Chicken Salad (serves 2)

  • 1 cooked chicken breast, shredded
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 1/2 tbsps sour cream
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 green/spring onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp fresh coriander/cilantro leaf, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup unsalted, roasted cashews
  1. Mix the tahini, sour cream, olive oil, lemon juice and garlic together.
  2. Stir in the onion, coriander, chicken and cashew nuts.
  3. Chill until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

7 thoughts on “Tahini & Cashew Nut Chicken Salad

  1. Pingback: Pan-fried Chicken Livers with Garlic & Shallots | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Lime & Cilantro Slaw | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Chinese Cashew & Broccoli Stir-fry | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Cashew & Cranberry Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

