Vanilla Cranberry Squares

packed with coconut oil, which means they're good for your digestion, skin, immune system, heart and brain!

packed with coconut oil, which means they’re good for your digestion, skin, immune system, heart and brain!

I am in the fortunate position of having too much coconut oil.

Yep, my cupboards are full of the liquid gold. I had been stockpiling for a while but that policy backfired when I discovered that two of the precious jars had gone rancid.

pre-freezing

pre-freezing

I thought coconut oil would last forever. Turns out it doesn’t.

You know it’s bad when it turns a sickly yellow colour and loses its coconut smell.

Also it’s a dead giveaway when your dog won’t touch it with a hairy paw.

like white chocolate...kinda

like white chocolate…kinda

NB: these delicious little nuggets are not portable. Especially in the summer. Coconut oil is a fickle beast and goes from solid to liquid before you can say: “My purse is ruined!” so keep these in the fridge and don’t carry them around with you.

Vanilla Cranberry Squares (makes 15)

  • 1 cup coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/3 dried cranberries
  • 2 tbsps honey
  1. Melt the coconut oil until it is liquid. Whisk in the honey and the vanilla extract.
  2. Take off the heat and let cool for a minute. Stir in the cranberries and pecans.
  3. Pour into small muffin cups (I used 4cm cups). Transfer to the freezer and let freeze for 45 minutes.
  4. Keep in the fridge to store.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

18 thoughts on “Vanilla Cranberry Squares

  1. I stop by every few days:) this morning I read about the coconut oil gone bad, and thought “well that might never happen to me, I live in germany, no problem” … guess what?! yesterday it was really hot outside and I was baking coconut flour cookies … turns out my coconut oil (cheap unrefined from the asia shop) is really liquid and yellow!
    Do I need to toss it out? And would it be better to store coconut oil next time in the fridge?

    • Hey Laura. It might be bad. Best way to tell is taste. If it doesn’t taste like coconut any more, chances are it’s off. I wouldn’t eat it because I don’t think rancid, oxidised oils are the best for your health BUT I’ve kept my old oil to use in beauty products – you could try using it on your hair/as a moisturiser/to make deodourant. Hope that helps!

  2. I didn’t want to go upstairs for cranberries (ha), so I used raisins and pistachios in mine. But my honey sank to the bottom… ? did that happen with yours?

    • Hey Abbeygirl. Again my spam filter took objection to you. Gotta fix that, sorry. Yep, I had that problem when I failed to melt the coconut oil and honey together. It seemed better when I heated them up together before introducing the cranberries etc. If it continues to happen I’d suggest stirring them every so often to get the mixture well churned. Unless, of course, you have better things to do than watch your desserts slowly set 😉

  3. Pingback: Popcorn Chocolate Freezer Cake | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Grocery Shopping List and Weekly Menu #10 | whole CLEAN living

  5. Pingback: Grocery Shopping and Weekly Menu for One | whole CLEAN living

  6. Why would you put an old oil/rancid oil on your skin if you won’t put it in your mouth? Skin is our largest living organ…..something to think about!

  7. Pingback: Paleo Menu: 50 Thanksgiving Recipes — A Girl Worth Saving

  8. Pingback: Lemon Squares (nut-free, dairy-free) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

