Indian-style Mustard Greens

I love it when my veggie side dishes are this colourful

I love it when my veggie side dishes are this colourful

I’m convinced that mustard greens are Satan’s favourite vegetable.

They don’t easily blend seamlessly into dishes like spinach.

They lack the subtle pepperyness of arugula.

They can’t compare with the versatility of cabbage.

evil, pure evil

evil, pure evil

In short, I kinda hate them.

Which says a lot about this dish, and the fact that it made it onto this blog.

Since I’m a big (HUGE) fan of all spices, it made sense that coating Satan’s veggie of choice in copious indian spices would please my finicky palate.

warning: smells so good you'll want to start eating right away

warning: smells so good you’ll want to start eating straight from the frying pan

It’s a really interesting way to eat your mustards and I’m now keen to try it on the other veggies that I guiltily scurry by in the grocery store.

These include, but are not limited to, eggplants, artichokes and any kind of marrow. UGH.

Indian-style Mustard Greens (serves 2)

*adapted from Food 52

  • 3 oz mustard greens (or 3-4 large leaves), de-stemmed and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tbsp fresh cilantro/coriander, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tbsp root ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 2 tsps lemon juice
  • 1 medium-sized tomato, chopped
  1. Melt the butter in a frying pan, gently fry the onion, coriander and garam masala and cumin until the onion softens and turns golden.
  2. Add the ginger, garlic and turmeric. Stir.
  3. Add the mustard greens and a pinch of sea salt. Cook for five minutes until the greens wilt.
  4. Stir in the chopped tomato and lemon juice. Cook for a further five minutes then serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

7 thoughts on “Indian-style Mustard Greens

  1. Like you, I’m not a big fan of mustard greens either. But spices can perform miracles on food, particularly INDIAN spices, IMO. I look forward to trying this! We do Indian food a lot!

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Mixed Greens | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Steamed Bok Choy with Ginger | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

