Almond Power Cookies

the Leaning Tower of Cookies

the Leaning Tower of Cookies

If you checked out my post yesterday, you’ll know that I was recently given a copy of UnDiet by Meghan Telpner to review.

That review will be posted next week but, in the meantime, I wanted to share one of Meghan’s recipes (because her Almond Power Cookies were chanting my name and I was very eager to shove them into my piehole in the name of research).

a lot of nuts were harmed in the making of these

a lot of nuts were harmed in the making of these

Dairy-free, gluten-free and vegetarian, these cookies are suitable for almost everyone.

in all their pre-oven glory

in all their pre-oven glory

Plus, they taste good so there’s that.

I ate two myself before guiltily remembering that hubs likes cookies also.

yeah, I ate that one

yeah, I ate that one

And then, like the cookie-stealing deviant that I am, I lied to cover my tracks and told hubs that I just had to eat those two because they ‘fell onto the floor.’

Even Dog was skeptical, and this is an animal that flies into a rage at the sight of his own tail.

Almond Power Cookies (makes 12)

  • 1 1/2 cups ground almonds
  • 1/2 cup pecans, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup shredded, dried coconut (preferably unsweetened)
  • 1/4 cup honey (Meghan uses maple syrup but I’m out, so honey it was)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup raisins (or chocolate chips)
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter (optional – Meghan doesn’t include this, but I wanted a bit more moisture in my dough)
  1. Mix everything together. Take about 2 tbsps of the dough, roll into a ball and press onto a lined baking tray in a cookie shape.
  2. Repeat until the dough is all used up.
  3. Bake 15-20 minutes at 350 then transfer to a cooling rack. They will crisp up as they cool.

Like this? You might also like:

11 thoughts on “Almond Power Cookies

  1. I wonder why mine spread out thin and ran together as they baked? Came out looking like a peanut brittle….. Tasted good, but was looking for that crumbly cookie….

  2. Pingback: UnDiet Is the Best health book ever

  3. Pingback: Spiced Christmas Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Cocoa-Nutty Haystacks (flour and dairy free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Maple Date Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

