“I didn’t start cooking until I realised it was going to be vital for me if I wanted to heal” – An Interview with Meghan Telpner, author of UnDiet

this is Meghan, she has a book out (stolen from her facebook page, I hope she doesn't mind)

this is Meghan, she has an amazing book out (stolen from her facebook page, I hope she doesn’t mind)

Jeez, having a blog is exhausting.

There’s all the food you have to eat, the lovely people you get to connect with and the free recipe/lifestyle books you have to review.

[insert melodramatic sigh here]

Seriously, it’s a hard life you guys!

Next week I’ll be reviewing UnDiet by Meghan Telpner which showed up at my door last week and has been making quite an impression on the whole household. Tune in for more of that next Thursday.

spoiler alert: I kinda loved it (photo courtesy Meghan Telpner)

spoiler alert: I kinda loved it (photo courtesy Meghan Telpner)

Until then, I thought it might be nice if we met Meghan first – found out what makes her tick, asked those important questions. Questions like: “What kitchen utensil could you not live without?” (yeah, I’m a veritable Oprah)

Take it away Meghan!

If you were stranded on a desert island with three foods, what would those three foods be?

My first choice would absolutely be coconut. Not only is it incredibly nutrient-dense, immune-boosting and delicious, but you can eat it in so many different ways — coconut milk, coconut water, coconut oil, coconut flour. I’d never get bored! And then I could use the husks and make shoes!

My second choice would be sunflower seeds. Seeds are filled with all the vitamins, minerals, proteins, fats and carbohydrates needed to support a growing plant. And for some diversity, I could sprout them for a super-powered green! (Plus, growing pretty sunflowers would keep me entertained during those long desert island days.)

Number three on the list would be beautiful, pure raw chocolate. With that anti-oxdiant powerhouse, plus sunflower sprouts and coconut, I could live to 162! I could also leave out the sprouts, blend the chocolate with some young coconut meat and wowza would I have the best pudding there ever was. Or- mix it with the oil for a face mask. Options are endless

Who are your ‘health heroes’, the ones who inspire your approach to nutrition?

My number one health hero is my husband, Josh Gitalis, a clinical nutritionist with a focus on evidence-based health. He has for sure been my greatest teacher and continues to be. All of my students also serve as major inspiration.

So many people have taken the brave first step of coming into my kitchen or taking one of my classes online. To see their openness, which is always followed by their own amazing transformation, continues to inspire everything that I do in my own life personally, and how I teach and share it all professionally.

Describe a typical day on your plate ie what you typically eat for breakfast/lunch/dinner/snacks.

I love experimenting in the kitchen — I rarely make the same thing twice. What I eat varies from day to day, except for my daily (sometimes twice daily!) green smoothie. It’s a staple in my diet because it’s a simple way to get all your essential veggies, fruits, superfoods and supplements in one go. Plus, it’s so easy to shake it up (no pun intended) and change the ingredients, so you never get bored at breakfast.

I eat loads of salads in the summer and soups/stews in the winter. I typically shy away from sharing what I eat on a meal-by-meal basis as I would hate for someone to think that what I am eating for every meal is what they should be eating. It is such a personal thing and I think it’s really important, as I talk about in UnDiet, that people really tune in to what they need on any given day, at any given meal.

Why did you call the book ‘UnDiet‘? What’s the philosophy behind it?

UnDiet has nothing to do with deprivation or restriction – it’s really the opposite of a diet book. UnDiet is all about ditching labels, breaking rules and doing what’s best for our individual health. The book includes practical nutrition info, healthy and delicious recipes and an eight-week transition program designed to help readers change their lives and feel absolutely amazing.

UnDiet is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle shift presented in a way that makes it effortlessly achievable and sustainable. The philosophy is simply to keep the foods we eat (along with our daily activities), as whole, natural, and enjoyable as possible.

What kitchen utensil could you not live without?

The most important piece of equipment in my kitchen is absolutely my high-speed blender. They can be pricey, but they can also do the job of so many different appliances – food processor, spice grinder, even a juicer – that I always recommend them as one of the best investments you can make in your health. I think this one appliance can change the way people eat.

What’s the first cookbook you ever bought?

The first (and last) cookbook I ever bought was Help! My Apartment Has a Kitchen by Nancy Mills. It taught me how to make a tuna sandwich. That’s where I was at in my early-20’s. I didn’t know how to cook at all. I didn’t start cooking until I realized that it was going to be vital for me to cook my own food if I wanted to heal. I still don’t have very many cookbooks. I’ve never been very good at following other people’s rules. Guess it makes sense that UnDiet is what I came up with!

UnDiet is Meghan’s first book. She is a certified nutritionist who helped create and launch Canada’s first Culinary Nutrition Expert Certification Programme. She has appeared on CTVs’ eTalk Daily, CBC’s Metro Morning, The Huffington Post, AOL’s That’s Fit, and Reader’s Digest- Best Health, among others. If you want to know more about Meghan, visit her website and blog here. You can also connect with her on facebook here.

6 thoughts on ““I didn’t start cooking until I realised it was going to be vital for me if I wanted to heal” – An Interview with Meghan Telpner, author of UnDiet

    • I understand, I feel exactly the same way. This isn’t a magazine though, and it’s definitely not your average diet book. The clue’s in the name: “UnDiet”. As Meghan says: “UnDiet has nothing to do with deprivation or restriction – it’s really the opposite of a diet book. UnDiet is all about ditching labels, breaking rules and doing what’s best for our individual health.”

      If you read the book it’s not about dieting. I’d never endorse anything that peddled a diet or suggested that health is all about weight loss.

  1. Pingback: UnDiet Tour Continues to these Awesometown spots

  2. Pingback: Almond Power Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

