Roasted Beet and Fennel Puree

I had it with chicken but when I served it out on the plate it looked like the chicken was bleeding so you get this photo instead

I had it with chicken but when I served it out on the plate it looked like the chicken was bleeding so you get this photo instead

Hubs and I were at one of our favourite restaurants last week and I ordered the branzino (don’t worry if you don’t know what that is. I didn’t either).

It turned out to be a very tasty piece of white, meaty fish. But that’s not the point of this story.

The point of this story (I’m getting to it!) is that the fish arrived with a smear of red goo on the side.

Further inquiry determined that it was a beet and fennel puree.

“But I don’t like beet or fennel!” was the message my panicking brain sent to my mouth, which was already preparing to ingest the goo.

“Don’t care, it’s going in! Brace yourself!” was the message that came back.

I hate both these veg...but not together. Weird, eh?!

I hate both these veg…but not together. Weird, eh?!

And so I shoved it into my face with trepidation and found, to my utter surprise, that it was delicious.

And, happily, recreating it in my own kitchen turned out to be a breeze.

Just roast up some beets, steam some fennel, blend the both together and voila! Restaurant-worthy goo!

Roasted Beet & Fennel Puree (serves 2)

  • 1 red beet, peeled and diced
  • 1 fennel bulb
  • 1 tbsp olive oil or melted butter
  • 1/2 white onion, finely sliced
  • 2 tsps cream
  1. Toss the beet and onion together in the olive oil. Roast at 400 for 40 minutes.
  2. Trim the green stem off the fennel bulb, discard the tough outer layer and de-core the bulb. Slice into wedges and steam or boil for ten minutes ’til soft.
  3. Blend the vegetables together and add the cream. Keep blending until smooth then serve immediately (or put back in the oven to warm up a little as I did).

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

8 thoughts on “Roasted Beet and Fennel Puree

  1. Pingback: Cream of Cauliflower & Fennel Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Warm Sweet Potato Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Sweet Pumpkin Puree | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Fennel, Sweet Potato & Leek Hash (topped with poached egg) | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Baked Beet Chips | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

