Maple Leaf Cookies (flourless and dairy-free!)

nothing says 'happy birthday Canada' like a tower of cookies

nothing says ‘happy birthday Canada’ like a tower of cookies

Although I’m not Canadian, I do celebrate Canada Day. Why? Well, because I’ve a lot to thank that great nation for.

This includes (but is not limited to):

  1. Hubs….and all the friends and family that came with him
  2. A new appreciation of Blue Rodeo, Barenaked Ladies, Kids in the Hall, FUBAR and Rick Moranis
  3. Many amazing holidays (and hopefully many more yet to come – watch out west coasters!)
  4. Falafel (yes I know it’s not traditional Canadian fare but do you know how many falafel joints there are in Toronto? DO YOU?!)
my amazing napkins came from my mother-in-law

my amazing napkins came from my mother-in-law

So today, in honour of Canada Day, I’m giving a little something back to the country that’s given me so much with these cookies.

Naturally they include a heavy dose of maple syrup, because what else are you gonna use to sweeten your cookies on July 1st?! Eh?!

they are deliciously moist and chewy

they are deliciously moist and chewy

Originally I was going to shape them into adorable little maple leafs but then I remembered that I have zero art skills and even less patience.

To all the Canadians out there: HAPPY CANADA DAY! 

And to all the Americans: Don’t worry, it’ll be your turn on Thursday (I can’t promise cookies but there will be a chance to win free stuff..and who doesn’t love winning free stuff?!)

Maple Leaf Cookies (makes 10)

*adapted from Oatmeal with a Fork (who has a few variations on the basic cookie template so head over there if you want more options)

  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup (if you use grade B, you might want to read this)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  1. Mix all ingredients together until well combined.
  2. Spoon onto parchment paper or other greased surface (I used a tbsp each – they spread on the baking sheet so be sure to leave some room around them). Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes until slightly browned.
  3. Let cool before jamming into your mouth.

Like this? You might also like:

9 thoughts on “Maple Leaf Cookies (flourless and dairy-free!)

  1. My mum is Canadian, so I have a lot to thank that great country for as well!!! These sound delicious and recently I have started cutting back on gluten. I can’t wait to try them!

  2. Pingback: Oh, Canada! (Or How to Make a Bacon Old Fashioned) | Dogs, Dishes, and Decor

  3. Pingback: Almond Power Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Spiced Christmas Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Cocoa-Nutty Haystacks (flour and dairy free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Maple Date Cookies | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

