Strawberry Cobbler

sticky strawberries over a coconut flour sponge

sticky strawberries over a coconut flour sponge cake

My local supermarket sends me an e-newsletter every week to let me know about their weekly specials (the creepy thing is I don’t even remember signing up to the thing. It just appears in my inbox every week – when it comes to internet espionage, the US government’s got nothing on my local co-op).

This week, top of the list, was “ORGANIC PEACHES!” in blazing type.

Naturally I was curious and excited – we don’t get much organic produce around here, and peaches? Fugeddabout it. They’re as rare as an ice cream truck in January.

pre-oven

pre-oven

Anyways, when I got to the shop the much-hyped peaches turned out to be tiny, mealy looking things and I couldn’t bring myself to spend the extortionate price on such pathetic offerings. Which was a shame because ever since my brain had processed the word ‘peaches’, it was pairing that word with the word ‘cobbler’.

Like the resourceful (and greedy) cook that I am, I threw a punnet of organic strawberries in my cart and resolved to make the cobbler anyway.

thankfully the strawberries were not offended at being my second choice

thankfully the strawberries were not offended at being my second choice

That proved to be an excellent decision as this thing is a delicious, easy and practically guilt-free pudding.

post-oven

post-oven

I imagine it would go good with ice cream. I’m only imagining because, for once in my life, I didn’t give into the siren call of the freezer foods section.

With willpower that would shame a buddhist monk, I breezed past the ice cream and headed for the check-out.

or custard, custard would also be good

or custard, custard would also be good

And so this cobbler was eaten with a sanctimonious smugness. But sanctimonious smugness can only get you so far. Next time I’m eating it with the damn ice cream.

Strawberry Cobbler (serves 4)

  • 12 oz or 15 large strawberries, hulled
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk (if you don’t do dairy, use coconut or almond milk)
  • 1/2 cup butter or coconut oil
  1. Dice the strawberries and add them to a medium-sized saucepan along with the coconut palm sugar and vanilla extract. Simmer on a low heat for ten minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat, sieve in the arrowroot and stir until the mixture thickens. Set aside.
  2. Whisk together the milk and eggs.
  3. Sieve the coconut flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl.
  4. Add the eggs to the flour and stir until it forms a semi-runny batter. Careful not to over-stir as that will dry out your batter and it will clump together.
  5. Put the butter in a medium casserole dish and place in the oven at 350 until it melts. Take the warmed dish out and spread the batter along the bottom, creating a thick layer.
  6. Spoon the strawberry mixture on top but do not stir it into the batter. Return to the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until the spongy bottom layer is set.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Real Food Forager

12 thoughts on “Strawberry Cobbler

  1. Pingback: Sunday Snippets

  2. Pingback: Paleo Menu: 20 Fourth of July Desserts — A Girl Worth Saving

  3. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with
    hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due
    to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  4. Pingback: Flourless Pear & Apple Cobbler | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

