Spicy Turkey Burgers with Lime Cilantro Sauce

they're tasty the next day too

they’re tasty the next day too

I’ve finally solved my cilantro/coriander dilemma.

[“phew!” I hear you cry, “at last I can sleep at night!”]

But enough of the sarcasm dear readers, the cilantro thing really was bugging me. While I assumed that coriander was the way we say it in the UK and cilantro was the American-ised version, turns out that is wrong.

[I hate to be wrong so let’s skim past that part.]

the coconut oil spat at me. It hurt

the coconut oil spat at me. It hurt

Cilantro is the term for the herb in its leafy form, coriander is the name of the seeds of the plant.

So glad that’s settled and I can get on with the important things in life…liking making spicy burgers and covering them with a thick, creamy cilantro sauce.

Spicy Turkey Burgers (makes 4)

  • 12 oz ground turkey
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 jalapeno, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • sea salt and black pepper
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl. Season well. Shape into patties and chill for 30 minutes.
  2. Heat coconut oil in a large frying pan. Add the burgers and fry for 4 minutes on each side until they brown.

Lime Cilantro Sauce

  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 tbsps fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1 spring/green onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tbsp mayo
  • 1 tbsp plain, full-fat yoghurt
  1. Stir all the ingredients together and chill until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

7 thoughts on “Spicy Turkey Burgers with Lime Cilantro Sauce

  1. Hey, in the picture it looks as though there are onions in them. Also I am wondering how you prevent them from becoming like little door stops. I found that unless I use some breadcrumbs ( GF please) they become way too dense.

    • You’ve a good eye Bianca 🙂 I made a batch with onions and one without. The ones without were much tastier and sturdier (in my humble opinion) so that’s the recipe that made it to the blog. They’re not dense at all, I think the flaxseeds help, but if you need another binder I find that a tiny amount of sieved coconut flour works wonders too…or ground almonds if you can take nuts.

Leave a Reply

