Salsa Baked Eggs

use two jalapenos if you like 'em really fiery!

use two jalapenos if you like ’em really fiery!

Let’s play a fun game called ‘This Is My Life.”

Ready? Ok. The rules are easy, just tell me which of the following  I experienced yesterday:

1. The plumbing broke in my office causing all kinds of unsanitary complications that should not be spoken of. Ever.

2. I forgot to take the dinner meat out of the freezer despite writing myself a note that read: “FREEZER MEAT, STUPID!”

3. The dog desperately needed a bath given that he smelt like two week old pastrami and even the neighbourhood dogs were shunning him. I worry my neglect is stunting his social development.

4. I had the mother of all headaches that stubbornly refused mint tea, acupressure, aspirin and ibuprofen (as I got more desperate the natural aids were discarded and it was all about the drugs – if there had been opiates in the house I would probably be smoking them by now.)

salsa + eggs = a hearty, healthy meal

salsa + eggs = a hearty, healthy meal

If you guessed “all of the above” then congratulations! You’re a winner (FYI – there is no cash prize. In fact there is no prize at all. Sorries)

As you can imagine, with all that going on I was not up for preparing a big dinner last night.

Instead I peered into my fridge and despaired. Thankfully where there are eggs, there is dinner and I pulled this salsa creation together in under 20 minutes.

before it hits the oven

before it hits the oven

It’s good as dinner, but I really want to try it as breakfast next time. Or perhaps a weekend brunch with my well-fed hubs, clean (and well-adjusted) dog, non-aching head and working plumbing.

Salsa Baked Eggs (serves 2)

  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups diced tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp ketchup or tomato puree
  • 1 jalapeno, finely sliced
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup cheddar cheese, grated (optional)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  1. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan. Add the onion, garlic and jalapeno. Saute for five minutes over a low heat.
  2. Add the tomatoes and ketchup/puree to the pot, season to taste and stir well. Let simmer for 10 minutes then remove from heat and transfer into a medium sized casserole dish.
  3. Make four wells in the tomato base and carefully crack an egg into each pocket. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes until the whites are firm but the yolks are a bit jiggly.
  4. If using the cheese, scatter over the top. Put back in the oven for 5 minutes to let it melt then serve.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Salsa Baked Eggs

  1. Pingback: Pancetta, Feta & Scrambled Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Christmas Devilled Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Mango Mint Salsa | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

