“Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost” (top 10 photos from my travels)

a sunny day on the banks of Loch Lomond

a sunny day on the banks of Loch Lomond

The above quote is from Hobbit-scribbler JRR Tolkien, and it’s one of my favourites.

It seems particularly apt for today because over the past three weeks I’ve done a lot of wandering (Scotland, England, Ireland, Canada).

Rather than bore you with the details, here’s a photo diary of the trip. It’s memories like these that’ll keep me going until the next va-cay.

Here’s Loch Lomond (where I picked up three ticks!):

thankfully my brother owned a pair of special 'tick tweezers' to remove the beasts

thankfully my brother owned a pair of special ‘tick tweezers’ to remove the beasts

And here’s a Scottish bee, investigating some bluebells:

proof that there are some bees, somewhere

proof that there are some bees, somewhere

Edinburgh Castle:

you can virtually feel the history seeping into your bones

you can virtually feel the history seeping into your bones

And the heartwrenching soldiers’ dogs cemetery in the grounds:

where the dogs who gave their lives in battle are buried...sniff

where the dogs who gave their lives in battle are buried…sniff

The view from Malin Head, Donegal, Ireland:

just look at those rugged cliffs! I love my homeland!

just look at those rugged cliffs! I love my homeland!

Downings Bay, Donegal which was cold, but sunny:

I paddled in that water, it was cold

I paddled in that water, my toes went numb

And a ship, loading up at the harbour in the early morning:

not sure what's going on, but it looks nautical

not sure what’s going on, but it looks nautical

Last leg of my trip – an Ontario park (I believe that’s Lake Sturgeon in the background):

there were people kayaking on the lake!

we even saw two brave souls kayaking on the lake

A bridge over the Scugog River (hands down the best name for a river in my opinion):

leafy and lovely

leafy and lovely

Like this? You might also like:

6 thoughts on ““Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost” (top 10 photos from my travels)

  1. Pingback: 16 days, lots of potatoes and too many pints to count: A pictorial diary of our Irish roadtrip | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

