Meat Feast Pizza

it’s like going back in time

I’ve done it all in my relatively short life (30 years young!) – from carnivore to vegetarian to pescatarian and back again.

When in the throes of my early meat-eating days, my family and I used to go to a certain pizza establishment (I’m too sickened to even mention the name) and I’d gleefully chow down their Meat Feast Pizza without a care in the world.

Oh how I loved that thing.

Sausage, bacon, chicken and lots and lots of cheese. I was in pre-adolescent heaven.

is it wrong that I had this slice…and then another?

Of course, now that my eyes have been opened to the perils of processed grains, antibiotic-laced meats and hormone-riddled chicken, I’d rather stick a fork into my eyeball than eat that pizza again.

But that doesn’t stop me from wanting to recreate it.

My version has a grain-free crust that’s made from cauliflower. Yep, you read that right…cauliflower.

it’s been a while since a vegetable truly surprised me but cauliflower did it

It’s ground to a rice-like consistency, mixed with some eggs, almonds and flax seed and hey presto, a workable pizza crust without the wheat.

This is then topped with bacon, ham and a touch of pepperoni.

goes good with hot sauce too

And of course I didn’t forget the cheese.

It’s the perfect alternative to junky pizza and, if you’ve little ‘uns, will definitely be a hit with them too.

 Meat Feast Pizza (makes two large pizzas so will feed 4-6 people)

Crust:

adapted from Love and Lemons

  • 1 medium sized cauliflower, cut into small trees
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 cup almonds, finely ground
  • 1/3 cup flax seeds, ground
  1. Grind the cauliflower in a food processor until it’s a rice-like consistency. Whisk the eggs, season, add the herbs, almonds and flax seeds.

    everything mooshed together to form a wet clump

  2. Pour in the ground cauliflower and stir until it comes together. It will be a wet batter but don’t let that put you off. I divided it into two lumps with my hands, plopped one lump onto a sheet of greaseproof paper and smoothed it out til it was about 1/4 inch thick then repeated the process for the rest of the mixture.

    my flattened ‘dough’

  3. Bake at 450 for 15 minutes then remove and let cool while you add your toppings.

Meat feast toppings:

(these are for one pizza, double up to coat both crusts)

  • 3 tbsps tomato paste
  • 1/4 white onion, cut into strips
  • 2 rashers streaky bacon, cut into chunks
  • 1 slice cooked ham, sliced into pieces
  • 1 slice cooked turkey, sliced into pieces
  • 3 slices pepperoni, sliced into pieces
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese
  1. Smear the tomato paste over the crust, scatter the onions.
  2. Top with half the grated cheese. Sprinkle over the meats and top with the remaining cheese.
  3. Put back into the oven for ten minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

21 thoughts on “Meat Feast Pizza

  1. I cant wait to try this. We have a place by us that does gluten-free pizza with grass fed cheese and organic sauce, so I typically take the lazy way out and just order from them most of the time. Since I already have most of these ingredients lying around we might have pizza this week 🙂

    • oh man, if I lived near such a place I’d take the easy way out too! It’s necessity that drives me to the cauliflower crust (that and the fact that it’s pretty damn good!). Hope it compares favourably to your restaurant option 🙂

  2. Pingback: Bacon, Avocado & Arugula Flatbread | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: 21 Paleo Pizza Recipes with No Grains, But Plenty of Flavor

  4. Looks amazing! Can’t wait to try this… One question: Would it be possible to substitute almond flour for the ground almonds?

  5. Hi
    I just tried this- and it was delish! Thanks
    I baked the base on oiled foil , but it stuck to it. Any tips? (I didn’t use grease proof as previously used that for regular pizza bases and it always stuck!)

    Cheers

    • I either put it directly onto greaseproof paper (perhaps you need to switch the brand you use as this should work) or if you have a classic cheesecake pan (the type with a detachable base) I find it easy to smear some oil/butter over the base and spread the pizza batter onto that – as an added bonus it helps you get it perfectly round. Hope that helps.

  6. Pingback: Cajun Beef & Jalapeno Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: How to Make a Paleo Pizza Crust: Dos, Don’ts and Recipes | Things My Belly Likes

    • Hi Melissa, I’ve never used sunflower seeds in this crust so can’t confirm or deny if they’ll work. You’re mainly just looking for a binding ingredient though so I’d give them a go. Sorry I can’t be more helpful – good luck!

  8. This sounds like a very interesting recipe! We’re excited to try it! One question: do you think this will still be good without cheese? My wife is allergic to dairy. Thanks!

  9. Pingback: 41 Mouth-Watering Paleo Pizza Recipes (+Primal Pizza Recipes included)

Leave a Reply

