Spicy Mint Rack of Lamb

lamb cutlet with a mint, cilantro and chili topping

lamb cutlet with a mint, cilantro and chili topping

The day before I made this meal will forever be known as Squatmageddon.

After a gruelling workout that seemed to be 80% squats (with some plyometrics thrown in for fun!) I could not stand, walk, sit, climb stairs, kneel or do basically anything that involved my quads the next day.

my food processor, bursting with goodness

my food processor, bursting with goodness

And standing at the stove, preparing a complicated meal? Nope, not happening.

So instead of making a pot of soup, as I’d planned, I did this lamb.

it's aromatic, sweet and spicy. Strange, but it works

it’s aromatic, sweet and spicy. Strange, but it works

It’s very simple and very quick.

And since all I wanted to do was shove the meaty protein into my face and go ice my shrieking thighs, it was perfect.

Spicy Mint Rack of Lamb (serves 2-4)

*adapted from Paul Rankin

  • 1 rack of lamb (8 cutlets)
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 small bunch fresh mint leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1 small bunch coriander/cilantro leaves, roughly chopped
  • 1 inch knob of ginger root, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 small bird’s eye green chili
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 lime, zest and juice
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp honey
  1. Blend all the ingredients, except the oil and honey, in a food processor until a paste.
  2. Stir in the coconut oil and honey.
  3. Brush the lamb with the melted butter and then spread the paste over the top.
  4. Roast at 400 for 30-35 minutes, depending on how well done you like your lamb.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Spicy Mint Rack of Lamb

  1. Squats are the perfect masochist exercise…I kind of love feeling the way you’ve described since it means that I did something really tough! I am less of a fan of feeling that way about push-ups…I am a wuss regarding my arms.

    But anyway, this rack of lamb looks delicious. I’m still intimidated by lamb because it’s a little pricier and thus seems too glam for my normal menu, but it tastes so good! Pinning this to my special occasion board so I can come back to it when I’m ready to splurge. Yum!

    (and BTW- I’ve moved from Humble Foodie to Jaybird! http://www.jaybirdblog.com :-))

  2. Pingback: Roast Lamb Gremolata | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Raspberry Marinated Rack of Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Lamb & Date Tagine | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Indian Spiced Lamb Bone Broth | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Italian Stuffed Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Persian Spiced Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Easter Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Lamb Chops with Lemon | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

