Very Berry Chocolate Cakes

heart-shaped, because chocolate has a special place in my heart

heart-shaped, because chocolate has a special place in my heart

By the time you read this I will be on my holidays – a two week whirlwind tour of Scotland and Ireland as I attempt to catch up with all the family members and friends left behind when emigrating to my corner of the Caribbean.

While this trip is one of the highlights of my year it is tinged with sadness because hubs won’t be with me (blame expensive flights and the need for at least one of us to remain in gainful employment).

think they look good now? Wait until you bite into them and taste the sticky berry goodness nestled in rich moist chocolate sponge

think they look good now? Wait until you bite into them and taste the sticky berry goodness nestled in rich moist chocolate sponge

Feeling a little overwhelmed with all the many, many things I had to do before flying and dreading the moment that I’d have to say goodbye to hubs, I did what I always do when confronted with strong emotions…

…I baked.

and I licked the spoon because chocolate is a known remedy for sadness

and I licked the spoon because chocolate is a known remedy for melancholy

These cakes were made the weekend before I left so hubs would have something sweet to remember me by (yes, I realise it’s only two weeks but we’re barely out of the newlywed stage – we’re revolting like that).

still warm and gooey from the oven

still warm and gooey from the oven

And, naturally, they are heart-shaped because nothing says “I’ll miss you!” like rich, chocolately hearts bursting with the best of the season’s berries.

it's like berries just exploded all over them

it’s like berries just exploded all over them

Very Berry Chocolate Cakes (this made 8 individual heart-shaped cakes for me, if using a standard muffin tin it should make around 15)

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour, plus a tbsp
  • 2 tbsps cocoa powder
  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 1/2 cup raspberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 tbsps honey
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 6 large eggs
  1. Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate, butter and honey together until liquid. Set aside to cool.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour into a large mixing bowl. Add the baking powder and cocoa powder.
  3. Dust the berries with a tbsp of coconut flour, set aside.
  4. Whisk the eggs into the now-cooled chocolate mixture until it thickens slightly.
  5. Gradually pour the chocolate mix into the coconut flour, stirring as you go. The more you stir, the more it will thicken so eyeball the batter carefully and don’t over-stir lest it become clumpy. Ideally you want a thick, runny batter.
  6. Fold in the berries then spoon into a well-greased muffin tray. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Let cool before removing from tray.

Like this? You might also like:

11 thoughts on “Very Berry Chocolate Cakes

  1. These look delicious. Do you think that I could replace the butter with coconut oil? I hope you have a wonderful trip!

  2. Pingback: We’re going to war | The Yellow Dog's Blog

  3. Pingback: Link Love (2013-06-22) | Becky's Kaleidoscope

  4. Pingback: Mocha Mini Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Peppermint & Almond Chocolate Bars | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Orange & Cranberry Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Pomegranate & Vanilla Parfait | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

