Rosemary & Garlic Salad Dressing

salad...with a side of delicious dressing

salad…with a side of delicious dressing

It’s hard to make salads exciting.

Try this test phrase: “we’re having BBQ spare ribs tonight!” in comparison to this: “we’re having salad tonight!”

It just doesn’t have the same appeal does it?!

you can use creme fraiche in place of sour cream (who really knows the difference anyway?)

you can use creme fraiche in place of sour cream (who really knows the difference anyway?)

In my quest to make salads as sexy as BBQ ribs (truly a lost cause), I’ve been experimenting with different dressings.

It all started when I made my own mayo. For weeks afterwards we had mayo-based dressings. Then there was the lemon craze, then we went back to basics with a simple olive oil and honey mix.

Then I found this interesting combo on 101 Cookbooks and haven’t looked back since. Rosemary and garlic are the new BBQ ribs!

creamy, good

creamy, good

Rosemary & Garlic Salad Dressing (makes about a cup)

*slightly adapted from 101 Cookbooks – she drizzles it over an heirloom apple salad so if that sounds good, head on over there!

  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary leaves
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 tbsps sour cream
  • 2 tsps lemon juice
  1. Mince together the rosemary, salt and garlic (I put them in my tiny food processor, you could also grind them to a paste if you have a pestle and mortar).
  2. Stir in the honey, sour cream and lemon juice. Chill until needed.

Like this? You might also like:

7 thoughts on “Rosemary & Garlic Salad Dressing

  1. do you have a favorite honey dijon dressing? I love CERTAIN ones, and hate others. I think I like them more sweet than mustardy.

    • I usually just eyeball my honey/dijon dressing by whisking together honey, dijon mustard, olive oil and garlic. I also taste it as I go along (probably not very hygienic but it’s only me and hubs eating it!).

    • Sorry Dreama, that was a typo (I had holiday brain at the time, that’s what travelling does to me!). I played around with a few tweaks and vinegar is a throwback to one of the old recipes. I meant lemon juice and have now amended accordingly.

Leave a Reply

