Mango & Coconut Lassi

serve with a curry for maximum refreshment

serve with a curry for maximum refreshment

Now that I’m no longer an ungrateful child, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank my parents for introducing me to Indian cuisine.

Going out for an Indian was standard Saturday night activity in our house growing up.

mango is full of fibre and vitamin C

mango is full of fibre and vitamin C

And with a delicious plate of curry inevitably came a big glass of lassi.

From my fond childhood memories, lassi is a thick, creamy blend of sweet and slightly sour tastes so I used goat’s milk yoghurt in mine.

if you want it a bit thicker, add a banana

if you want it a bit thicker, add a banana

If you’re not keen, or you want to stay dairy free, it can easily be substituted with coconut milk yoghurt.

Mango & Coconut Lassi (makes 2 cups)

  • 1 large, ripe mango, peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 generous tbsps yoghurt (I used goat’s milk yoghurt but plain would also work)
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tbps honey
  • a handful of crushed ice
  1. Blend all the ingredients together until smooth. Serve chilled.

Like this? You might also like:

3 thoughts on “Mango & Coconut Lassi

  1. Pingback: Mango Mint Salsa | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Mango Creamiscles (dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

