Holy Basil & Chili Stir-Fry

man, I love real food

man, I love real food

Hands up if you thought that Holy Basil was just regular basil that had lived a very virtuous life.

No? Just me then.

this herb goes to church at least twice a week

this herb goes to church at least twice a week

I really had no idea that there was such a thing until I came across it in a recipe the other week.

As I googled it and went down the internet rabbit-hole, I discovered many interesting things about the holy herb.

In Ayurvedic medicine, it is considered an extremely medicinal plant and used to treat all sorts of ailments from stress to fevers and colds.

the whole thing takes about 15-20 minutes to get on the table - magic

the whole thing takes about 15-20 minutes to get on the table – magic

It can also be made into a paste and slathered on insect bites (we’ve had particularly vicious mosquitos around recently so I’m very tempted to put that to the test).

But, health benefits aside, this is worth eating anyway because it’s fragrant, delicious and really all you need to throw together a decent meal.

warning: your pee might smell funny afterwards

warning: your pee might smell funny afterwards

This stir-fry is vegetarian because I occasionally get tired of eating meat (*gasp* I know, please don’t disown me – sometimes belly just want plants and I have to give in).

You can, of course, add some chicken, pork or beef to amp up the protein.

Holy Basil & Chili Stir-Fry (serves 2)

  • holy basil, finely chopped
  • 1 inch chunk ginger, peeled and grated
  • 1 red bird’s eye chili pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsps coconut oil
  • small bunch asparagus, trimmed
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely sliced
  • 1 cup small broccoli florets
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and sliced into thin batons
  • 2 baby bok choy, quartered
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  1. Melt the coconut oil in a large frying pan. Add the onion, garlic, ginger and chili and gently saute for a few minutes.
  2. Toss in the broccoli, carrot and asparagus. Cook for ten minutes until they soften slightly then add the basil and bok choy.
  3. Saute for a few minutes more until the bok choy wilts then drizzle with the lemon juice and serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

6 thoughts on “Holy Basil & Chili Stir-Fry

    • I believe they’re just two different variations of the same herb. I found it at my local supermarket and it was marked ‘holy basil’ so I’m very much hoping it’s authentic and I’m not the victim of some sort of basil scam 🙂

  1. Pingback: Sardine Nasi Goreng | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Steamed Bok Choy with Ginger | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Szechuan Chicken Stir-fry | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

