Dairy Free Mocha ‘Ice Cream’

so soft it melts in your mouth

so soft it melts in your mouth

A few weeks ago I made this, and had a surplus of egg whites left over.

So I did what any reasonable food blogger would do under the circumstances and took to facebook to ask the multitude what I should do with them.

And that’s when Shellie* responded with a genius idea that I immediately put to use. Spoiler: it’s basically this recipe but slightly modified.

whisking is a tedious pastime

I find whisking so tedious it puts me in a bad mood

Although my first urge was to put cream/milk in there, I know a lot of you out there are avoiding dairy for one reason or another and I feel like it’s time you guys got a bit of love.

There’s no ice-cream maker required as I still haven’t bought one (I’m scared it’ll trigger an ice-cream apocalypse) so you need to stir it by hand every two hours or so to break up the ice crystals.

pre-freezing

pre-freezing

Make it on a day when you’re pottering around the house anyway and it won’t feel like a chore.

Plus you get to eat it afterwards which helps. They say mothers forget the pain of labour soon after childbirth because they’re so enamoured with their child….well, I forgot the labour of making this because I was so busy shovelling it into my face with gusto.

gusto! so much gusto!

gusto! so much gusto!

*Shellie, I hope you don’t mind me shamelessly stealing your recipe, tweaking it and putting it on the site. This is what happens when you share with food bloggers! If you hate my guts and are cursing my impertinence please let me know in the comments.

Dairy Free Mocha ‘Ice Cream’ (makes about 2 cups)

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 tsp coffee extract
  • 2 tbsps cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 2 tbsps maple syrup
  1. Whisk the egg whites until stiff peaks.
  2. Fold in the other ingredients, stir until combined.
  3. Transfer to the freezer, stir every one to two hours until it reaches the desired consistency (this took four hours overall for me). The texture will not be like ‘normal’ ice-cream, it’s more like a soft-scoop consistency.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

7 thoughts on “Dairy Free Mocha ‘Ice Cream’

  1. Pingback: 45 Dairy-Free Paleo Ice Cream Recipes | Paleo Grubs

  2. Pingback: Avocado Mint ‘Ice Cream’ | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: The Top Paleo Ice Cream Recipes (includes separate list for Primal Ice Cream Recipes) – Ancestral Chef

  4. Pingback: The Top Paleo Ice Cream Recipes (includes separate list for Primal Ice Cream Recipes) - Paleo Living Magazine

Leave a Reply

