Reviewing ‘Cave Wraps: 40 Paleo Recipes For The Best Damn Wraps Ever’

introducing the Berry Nutty Turkey Wrap (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

introducing the Berry Nutty Turkey Wrap (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

In my early twenties I lived in France.

The country of baguettes, pain au chocolat, croissant. Basically wheat everywhere the eye could see…and I scoffed it all.

There was nothing better than walking to work on a frosty December morning and picking up a pain au chocolat from the bakery to munch on the way.

Nowadays I’m about 80% wheat-free and ditching bread has been an ongoing struggle so when Ivy Martin asked me to review her new cookbook: Cave Wraps: 40 Paleo Recipes for the Best Damn Wraps Ever I was excited (and hungry).

I liked the book. It’s bright, it’s colourful, it’s fun.

But these are not wraps as you know them.

Don’t go into it expecting grain-free wrap recipes cos this ain’t that book. Instead the ‘wraps’ are either meat slices or lettuce slices.

Beefy Bacon Nacho Chicken Wrap (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

Beefy Bacon Nacho Chicken Wrap (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

This makes for a messy sandwich in my experience, it’s definitely not as portable or as easy to eat.

If you can get over that hurdle though, Ivy’s book is worth a look. It’s full of interesting combos (Peachy Salmon Bacon Lettuce wrap anyone?) and flavours that quite literally had my mouth-watering (Beef Nacho Turkey Wrap..get in my belly!).

oooh, peachy salmon (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

oooh, peachy salmon (photo courtesy Ivy Martin)

And you also get a good couple of recipes for Paleo friendly guacamole and salsa.

This book ain’t rocket science and it isn’t a shortcut to eating bread without grains. Instead it’s a fresh look at putting together simple, healthy ingredients in unique and tasty ways.

Ivy gave me a free copy of her book to review but I did not receive any additional compensation for this post. If you want to get a copy of the Cave Wraps ebook, click through to Amazon here

9 thoughts on “Reviewing ‘Cave Wraps: 40 Paleo Recipes For The Best Damn Wraps Ever’

  1. Pingback: Reviewing 'Cave Wraps: 40 Paleo Recipes For The Best Damn … « Best Paleo

  2. Pingback: Beyond Bacon: A Review | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Fish Tacos with Plantain Wraps | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

