Honey Lemon Chicken

just like your favourite Chinese takeaway makes

just like your favourite Chinese takeaway makes

I don’t often cook Chinese food, which is strange because I’m a big fan of the genre.

Probably because I equate it with unhealthy food. The cuisine’s reputation has taken a bashing in recent years what with the MSG scandal and all that furore over soy.

But that doesn’t mean I have to wipe it from my diet completely.

all meals should involve fried chicken

all meals should involve fried chicken

I just needed to get creative.

The result was a zingy, fresh and really light midweek meal. My belly approved.

please excuse the mess of my stove top

I love my new ceramic frying pan

If you’re strict paleo I’d serve it up over cauliflower rice. We went for white rice because it’s not a carb I’m scared of and, to be honest, I just didn’t have the time to be grinding up a head of cauliflower.

I love food and I’m beyond passionate about health but it has to be practical – if it becomes a chore, you’re doing something wrong.

not a chore, still delicious

not a chore, still delicious

Honey Lemon Chicken (serves 2)

  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into equal sized chunks
  • 2 spring/green onions, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 inch chunk of ginger root, peeled and grated
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsps lemon juice
  • 2 tsps lemon zest
  • 1 tbsp arrowroot powder
  • 2 tbsps coconut flour
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  1. Tip the chicken into the egg and stir to make sure the chunks are coated. Remove (and let the excess egg drain off) then toss in the coconut flour.
  2. Heat the coconut oil in a large frying pan to a high heat. Add the chicken and cook until browned. Remove and set aside.
  3. Add the onions, garlic and ginger to the pan, lower to a medium heat and saute for five minutes. Pour in the broth, honey, lemon juice and zest and bring to a boil.
  4. Take it off the heat and sieve in the arrowroot powder (I’ve found that it can clump if you just toss it in) and stir until the sauce thickens.
  5. Add the chicken chunks to the sauce, stir and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

10 thoughts on “Honey Lemon Chicken

  1. this looks realllllly tasty! I would love to see you try to make Orange Chicken (you know.. like a Panda Express mimic recipe?)

    Thanks for all of your posts!

  2. Pingback: Wednesday 051513

  3. Pingback: Sticky BBQ Drumsticks | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Special Fried “Rice” | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Chinese Five-Spice Powder | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

