Sweet Potato Cottage Pie Topped With Cheesy Leeks

the perfect mix of veggies and meat

the perfect mix of veggies and meat

When I was little, and my mother served up Shepherd’s Pie, I hated it with such a passion that I would divide it up on my plate and play a game.

I’d tell myself that this piece was for X (insert name here), this piece was for X’s friend Y (insert different name here) and so on until all the pie on my plate was accounted for.

ahhh...smells like childhood

ahhh…smells like childhood

I then proceeded to eat it, piece by piece, pretending that these imaginary friends hadn’t shown up for dinner so I had to eat their portions. Until my plate was clean.

And thus the terror of Shepherd’s Pie night became a weird game where I stole food from make-believe tardy dinner guests.

the careful layering process

the careful layering process

Happily my childhood distaste has morphed into a deep love of this traditional comfort food. You really can’t beat the combo of tasty meat, creamy potato and rich gravy.

melted cheese solves everything

melted cheese solves everything

I’ve topped this with leeks because a bit of extra greens never hurts and both hubs and I have a slight cheese problem so that part of the process was a no-brainer.

If you have Shepherd’s/Cottage pie-averse kiddies in the house, this might just be the dish that wins them over.

who could say "no" to this?

who could say “no” to this?

Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie Topped with Cheesy Leeks (serves 4)

*adapted from Delia Smith

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsps tomato paste
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed
  • 3 tbsps butter
  • 1 cup mozzarella
  • 1 large leek, cleaned and chopped into 1-inch slices
  1. Heat a tbsp of butter in a large saucepan. Add the onion and garlic and saute for a few minutes until the onion softens. Add the carrot and cook for a further 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in the beef, breaking it up with a wooden spoon. Cook until the beef browns and then stir in the tomato paste and parsley.
  3. Using a slotted spoon (to get rid of excess liquid), transfer the meat to a casserole dish and set aside.
  4. Add the sweet potato to a pot of boiling water. Boil for 15 minutes or until tender then drain and add 2 tbsps of butter and season well with salt and pepper. Mash the potatoes until smooth.
  5. Cover the meat with a layer of the mashed potato.
  6. Sprinkle the leeks on top and cover generously with the cheese. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

13 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Cottage Pie Topped With Cheesy Leeks

  1. Pingback: Chicken & Avocado Twice Baked Sweet Potato | Things My Belly Likes

  2. I made this for dinner tonight. It was awesome! My grocery store didn’t have leeks (I’m not sure why; I’ve seen them there before), so I used scallions instead, and it turned out great. It was super easy to make, and my husband and 9-year-old daughter both loved it. Thanks so much for this recipe!

  3. Pingback: Spaghetti Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Bobotie (South African Meatloaf) | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Spicy Beef & Root Vegetable Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Sweet Potato & Cauliflower Mash Topped with Garlic Leeks | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Spicy Beef & Veggie Bowl | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Bully Beef Scotch Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Cheesy Sweet Potato Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

