Guava Cheesecake

confession: mine got a bit burnt on top - it actually worked as it carmelised the top layer

confession: mine got a bit burnt on top – it actually worked as it carmelised the top layer

“Your birthday is coming up, what dessert do—?”

“CHEESECAKE!”

“What type of cheesecake? I can do chocolate, strawberry, vani—”

“GUAVA CHEESECAKE!”

And that, folks, was the conversation I had with hubs a few days before his birthday.

I don't have any pictures of me making it because I got up at the crack of dawn to do so, and there was no good light

I don’t have any pictures of me making it because I got up at the crack of dawn to do so, and there was no good light

My man loves cheesecake with a deep, abiding love that resonates through all the years, from birthday to birthday.

Think Romeo & Juliet, Kate Winslet and that guy in Titanic, Johnny Cash & June Carter.

Although I know this, and was fully expecting to make one for his birthday, the guava threw me for a loop.

The last time I tried to cook with guava, I got some measly under-ripe things from the supermarket (side note – they were unbelievably expensive considering they grow on trees everywhere here) and spent a frustrating afternoon trying to get the tasty pink goo separated from the teeny, tiny seeds.

A lot of curse words were used in that particular culinary experiment. I had to wash out Dog’s ears afterwards (another side note – his ears are not a place for the faint-hearted).

we're still working our way through it...and loving every minute

we’re still working our way through it…and loving every minute

This time I played it safe and used guava jam. I scoured the shelves looking for one that didn’t contain high fructose corn syrup and managed to get a decent local version that only contained three ingredients (you know it’s a winner when the ingredients list is small and recognisable).

I swirled it into the creamy cheesecake base and it was amazingly decadent and tasty.

True, this dessert uses a tad more sweetener than I’m happy with but it was a special occasion. Sometimes you just have to quiet your inner guilt trip and focus on thanking the wonderful force that brought you your dearest hubs and blessed him with another year on this earth 🙂

Guava Cheesecake 

Crust:

  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 3/4 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp nut butter (I used sunflower seed but you can mix it up)
  • 2 tbsps maple syrup
  1. Blitz the nuts in a food processor ’til they are a fine crumb. Mix in the nut butter and maple syrup until it binds together.
  2. Spread the mixture on the bottom of a 9in springform cake pan and chill until needed.

Cheesecake:

  • 1 cup guava jam
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 3 large eggs
  • 16 oz cream cheese
  • 2 tsps lemon zest
  • 4 tbsps honey

NB: Leave your cheese, sour cream and eggs out until they are at room temperature.

  1. Using an electric whisk on a low setting, beat together the cream cheese, sour cream, jam and honey until smooth.
  2. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, being careful not to overbeat (too much air will crack the cheesecake)
  3. Pour onto the crust.
  4. Bake at 350 for 40 minutes. Let cool completely before removing from tin and/or slicing.

Like this? You might also like:

This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

6 thoughts on “Guava Cheesecake

  1. Oh, what a perfect combination! I never knew they were so expensive there, that said though, we did have a tree in our backyard……I put guava in EVERYTHING. Try it on ribs one day. You’ll thank me. (with some rum…..make it truly bahamian! Yes I!)

    • Hey Carla, I might not thank you (ribs aren’t my thing) but hubs definitely would, thanks! As for the price, I think it was because I bought them at a store rather than from a roadside vendor. Next time I’m going to find one and haggle for a better bargain.

  2. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie Cheesecake | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

