GF Thin Crust Hawaiian Pizza

I remain unconvinced about fruit on my pizza, but this was pretty damn tasty

I remain unconvinced about fruit on my pizza, but this was pretty damn tasty

Hubs and I have a hard time in pizzerias.

His favourite is the classic Hawaiian – ham and pineapple. Mine usually involves fish (spicy shrimp? yes please!).

Glancing at a pizza menu, he’ll say hopefully: “how about the hawaiian?” and I immediately make The Face.

the staging area

the staging area

You know The Face, you’ve probably got a version of it in your own repetoire. It involves curling your upper lip in disgust and wrinkling your nose as if someone has suggested you eat roadkill with a side of duck feces.

In short, it’s not good.

this crust is amazing, thanks Healthy Home Economist

this crust is amazing, thanks Healthy Home Economist

So we end up compromising (because hubs is the kind of selfless man who likes to humour his wife and her peculiarities) and eating something entirely different.

But it’s hubs’ birthday this week and I wanted to make him something he loves so Hawaiian pizza it was. I made it with a coconut flour crust and kept it simple. Just tomatoes, onion and the obligatory fruit and meat mix (ugh, fruit and ham. Ugh. I’m making The Face again).

making your own pizza is fun!

making your own pizza is fun!

I scraped the fruit off my half but that’s the joy of making pizza at home – not only could I customise the toppings, I could also make the base gluten-free.

Good for my belly, good for my tastebuds and good for my patient husband.

Hawaiian Pizza (serves 2)

Crust (makes two medium pizzas):

*adapted from The Healthy Home Economist

  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup plain yoghurt
  • 1/3 cup parmesan, grated
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • a pinch of sea salt
  1. Whisk together the eggs, salt and yoghurt.
  2. Sieve in the coconut flour and stir until combined (it will take a few moments to come together as it’s a lot of moisture for the flour to absorb, just be patient and stir until it thickens to a semi-runny batter). Fold in the cheese and oregano.
  3. Divide the mixture in two and use each half to create a thin 8 inch circle on a lined baking tray.
  4. Bake at 400 for ten minutes then remove and start layering on the topping as below.

Topping (NB: this is for both pizzas)

  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 2 cups mozzarella, grated
  • 1/4 white onion, finely sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup pineapple chunks
  • 2 oz shredded ham
  1. Blend the tomato paste with the garlic then spread evenly on the pizza bases.
  2. Sprinkle over the cheese, followed by the onion, the ham and finally the pineapple.
  3. Return to the oven and bake for a further ten minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

13 thoughts on “GF Thin Crust Hawaiian Pizza

  1. Mm, Healthy Home Economist always shares good recipes. I like the idea of making mini pizzas- for some reason, I’ve done that with standard pizza dough, but never with paleo pizza! Hawaiian was my favorite as a kid but as I’ve cut down on sugar, it has started to be a bit overpowering. I’m now firmly in your camp with “the Face”. 😛
    Alicia

  2. Forgot to add- your pizzas are so perfectly round! I guess I’m pretty impatient and/or messy, but whenever I make GF pizza, the crust always ends up a strange oblong shape. Still tastes great, but not quite as picturesque!

  3. Pingback: Bacon, Avocado & Arugula Flatbread | Things My Belly Likes

  4. So we made this and were wicked excited to eat it. However, we put it on that parchment paper as in the photos, guess what? Completely stuck and couldn’t eat a single slice. wtf!!!!??? Go ahead and make this, it might be great but don’t put it on the bullshit parchment paper. That shit tastes like donkey balls

  5. Pingback: Gluten Free Meals Weekly (What I Ate Last Week) #1 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  6. Pingback: Cajun Beef & Jalapeno Pizza | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Gluten Free Weekly Meals (What I Ate Last Week) #2 | Tastefully Gluten Free

  8. Pingback: How to Fix My Skin Challenge The Thirsty Jellyfish

  9. Pingback: How to Make a Paleo Pizza Crust: Dos, Don’ts and Recipes | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: 41 Mouth-Watering Paleo Pizza Recipes (+Primal Pizza Recipes included)

Leave a Reply

