Spring Greens & Pea Soup

see that green? that means it's bursting with delicious antioxidants

see that green? that means it’s bursting with delicious antioxidants

Tis the season of leafy greens.

Or at least that’s what it feels like in my local supermarket where the fresh veg display is practically overrun with greenery.

For this soup I chose dandelion greens, spinach and kale. You can mix it up with others if those don’t appeal but I found mixing the bitter dandelions with sweet peas made for a really interesting – and delicious – flavour.

The dollop of cream stirred in at the end is entirely optional since I know there’s a lot of dairy-haters out there. I liked the creamy finish but the soup stands up well enough without it.

a pot of goodness

a pot of goodness

And that’s pretty much the limit of what I can say about soup.

Has anyone been watching the latest series of Parks and Recreation? Doesn’t Ron Swanson get all the best lines? How about them Leafs*?

*Canadian hubs is clearly rubbing off on me. I saw Ron MacLean in Toronto last year and was a bit starstruck, despite never actually watching a full game of hockey…or knowing anything about the sport.

Spring Greens & Pea Soup (serves 3-4)

  • 3 oz dandelion greens
  • 5 oz spinach
  • 9 oz kale
  • 3 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1 cup frozen green peas
  • 1 large white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter or olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan, add the onion and garlic and fry over a medium heat for five minutes til golden.
  2. Pour in the broth, cover and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and let simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. Stir in the frozen peas and let simmer for ten more minutes. Transfer to a blender and blend until smooth.
  4. Pour back into the pot, season to taste and stir in the cream. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

11 thoughts on “Spring Greens & Pea Soup

  1. Yum! I’ve wanted to try dandelion greens since last year. You can actually buy them at the store here, but I also have dandelions growing my yard…however I’m not sure if they’re safe to eat because neighbors use some lawn pesticide type stuff. This soup sounds like a perfect accompaniment to a spring meal. Today I’ve got a spring greens recipe on the blog too- great minds (bellies?) think alike! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Broccoli, Basil & Arugula Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Indian-style Mustard Greens | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

