Jerk-Spiced Chicken Thighs

man, that chicken is such a jerk

man, that chicken is such a jerk

It’s possible I’ve said this before but I *heart* Yotam Ottolenghi.

He’s the chef from London who does amazing things with produce I’ve never even heard of. It’s not often I say this, for fear of sounding terribly pretentious, but he really does make cooking into an art form.

the tasty-hot spice mix

the tasty-hot spice mix

A great many of his recipes are vegetarian and a great many feature ingredients that I can’t readily get hold of, so imagine my delight at finding this easy jerk chicken.

It got bookmarked immediately.

letting the rub do its thing

letting the rub do its thing

One thing I will say is this – wear gloves.

Foolishly I did not and handling that much chilli with my vulnerable naked fingers turned out to be a lesson in pain.

I had to eat one handed as the other was curled around an ice pack. It did not make for easy eating, but thankfully hubs is used to my lack of dignity at meal times.

Yep, I am a lady in the kitchen but a voracious pig-beast at the dinner table (or so my charming brother tells me).

served with a side of potato wedges and you got yourself a party

serve with a side of potato wedges and you got yourself a party

Jerk-Spiced Chicken Thighs (serves 2)

*slightly adapted from Yotam Ottolenghi (the link also contains his recipe for coconut salsa which I would’ve made if I’d had the time)

  • 4 chicken thighs, skin on
  • 1/2 tbsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1 1/2 tbsps honey
  • 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar
  • 1 green chilli, chopped
  • 1 red chilli, chopped
  • 1 white onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 tbsps coconut oil
  1. Put the spices into a frying pan and heat over a medium heat for two minutes until they start to smell (don’t worry – it smells delicious). Transfer to a food processor, add the honey, sugar, chillis, onion and a pinch of sea salt. Blend.
  2. Season the chicken thighs. Rub with the spicy paste, massaging it into the chicken. Cover and chill for at least an hour.
  3. Melt the coconut oil in a frying pan until it bubbles. Carefully add the thighs (skin side down) and fry for three minutes on each side. Remove and transfer to the oven. Bake at 400 for 12-15 minutes until cooked through. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

*This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

10 thoughts on “Jerk-Spiced Chicken Thighs

  1. Oh……I can hear the caribbean calling me now! I adore jerk chicken. I adore jerk anything actually. Your poor hands though…..totally know how you feel. I have done that silly mistake many a time!

  2. Oh dear! Chicken! Wolfie’s delight! You have no idea what normal chicken does to a wolf let alone the best of all chicken….slurp! Jerk spiced chicken! Oh wolf! I am drooling you wonderful person! Please leave an extra large sample of the delicious jerk chicken on the side of your blog page for me!! lol 😉

  3. Pingback: Jerk Seasoning | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: 5 Foods to Beat the Blues | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Baked Chicken Goujons with Garlic Lime Dipping Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Smoky Mustard BBQ Chicken Thighs | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Perfect Crispy Chicken Thighs | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

