Easy Homemade Mayo

homemade mayo is a buttery yellow rather than the bland white of processed brands

homemade mayo is a buttery yellow rather than the bland white of processed brands

Mayo is something I’ve been meaning to make for myself for ages.

In fact this recipe was tucked away in my recipe book a long time ago (I can’t remember where it came from – if it’s yours let me know so I can credit you!).

I’m like a magpie with a hoarding problem when it comes to recipes. If I made every one that I save ‘for later’, I’d be very obese indeed.

try to buy good quality pastured eggs if possible

try to buy good quality pastured eggs if possible

But back to the mayo.

One of the things putting me off making it was that I don’t own a good food processor. I’m an expat, living in a rented apartment. Investing in quality kitchen equipment has to wait until I settle down somewhere.

So I made this with a simple whisk and my own arm muscles.

it was suprisingly tiring, who needs the gym?!

it was suprisingly tiring, who needs the gym?!

Nobody was more surprised than me when it came together like a dream.

Given that most store-bought mayo contains soy, I think I’ll be making my own from now on.

don't worry if it's a little loose, it sets further in the fridge

don’t worry if it’s a little loose, it sets further in the fridge

It’s inspired me to see what else I can tackle – nut butters, coconut milk, mozzarella…the world is my oyster!

Homemade Mayo (makes about 2 cups)

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard (optional)
  • 1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  1. Whisk the egg yolks then stir in the vinegar, lemon juice and mustard if using.
  2. If you’re using a food processor pour the mixture in and set it on a low setting. With the motor running slowly dribble in the oils (I mixed the olive and the coconut oils together beforehand so I could dribble them in as one) until it reaches mayo consistency.
  3. If using a whisk, just beat the oil into the yolks gradually until it resembles mayo. Your arm will get sore but it’s important to add the oil slowly (it keeps the mayo stable) so, if you need to, take a break every so often rather than just chucking it all in.
  4. Store in the fridge until needed (NB: it will set further in the fridge).

Like this? You might also like:

*This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

43 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Mayo

  1. My husband made us some “real” mayo once… using duck eggs. The silky smoothness of the duck egg really added to the flavour and texture 🙂

      • They’re beautiful – so silky and creamy in texture!

        Make sure to put quail eggs on your list too; even my husband likes them and mayo is usually the closest he comes to eating eggs – they’re delicious 🙂

  2. How do you incorporate the coconut oil? It’s typically solid when I scoop it out of the jar, and I’d be afraid that heating it would make the mayo break.

    When I make mayo, I use about 2/3 almond oil to 1/3 olive oil because I find the olive oil overwhelming.

    • I’m fortunate enough to live in a country with a tropical climate so my coconut oil is never solid. I’d suggest putting it on a radiator/moving it to the warmest place in the house or very gently heating it over the stove until it’s a liquid then immediately pouring it into your olive oil. Then drizzle in the mixture (I mixed up my oils first before slowly pouring them into the yolks). Hope that helps! Now that I’ve tried making this I want to experiment with different oils, next on the list is avocado….

  3. I, too, have been dragging my feet on making homemade mayo. I’ve pinned a dozen recipes but for some reason find it intimidating. But I’m totally going to try your version, since no processor is required. Question: I noticed the dijon mustard is optional. From the color of yours, it looks like you added it….yes? Also, how does the “flavor” compare to the creepy store-bought stuff? Just curious!

    • Yep, I did add the mustard but I taste tested a version without it and that was good too (hence why it’s optional!). To be honest, it was a lovely yellow colour even without the mustard – I like to think it’s because I used good quality eggs with bright orange yolks. The flavour is similar to the store stuff but a bit more subtle. It’s not quite as sharp but I mixed it into some tuna salad and could barely tell the difference. I can honestly say I’m reluctant to ever buy the creepy stuff again now that I can make this.

      • Awesome! I am beyond stoked! I’m going to make this recipe tomorrow. I’ve had a long-time love affair with the creepy store-bought stuff (what’s not to love about a creamy, fatty spread) but after going paleo/non-processed have missed mayo like crazy. So excited to have found an easy, peasy DIY mayo recipe!

  4. My mum taught both my brother and myself to make mayo from when we were no age. But in those days in Romania there were no such things as industrial mayo. By the way, they did a program last year on how they make it now. it doesn’t even have soya anymore just vegetable oil and some sort of mushroom/growth/weird thing…Gross…

    • Ewwww, if that’s not incentive enough to make your own I don’t know what is!
      Your mum was fantastic to pass on those skills, it makes me sad to think old-school kitchen wisdom like that is rapidly becoming a thing of the past 😦

  5. Pingback: Dairy Free Mocha ‘Ice Cream’ | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Rosemary & Garlic Salad Dressing | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Easy Vanilla Almond Butter | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Garlic & Chili Mayo | Things My Belly Likes

  9. I just read your latest post with your Garlic & Chili Mayo recipe and, in the post, you mention that coconut oil does NOT work. I was surprised to find a link to your mayo recipe that calls for coconut oil. If coconut oil does not work, might you consider removing, or editing, the recipe?

    • Nope. If you read the post you’ll see that I say a mayo made ‘primarily’ from coconut oil doesn’t work. In this case I’m only using 1/4 cup which seems to be the coconut oil sweet spot. The coconut to olive oil ratio in the failed mayo was very different.

  10. Pingback: Parsley & Dill Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Move Over Butter! (Introducing My New Favourite Fat) | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Buffalo Bratwurst & Mustard Cassava Mash | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Walnut Pesto Stuffed Chicken | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Pingback: Chili Crab Avocado Boat | Things My Belly Likes

  15. Pingback: Crab & Cassava Fritters | Things My Belly Likes

  16. Pingback: Avocado & Garlic Mayo | Things My Belly Likes

  17. Pingback: Baconnaise | Things My Belly Likes

  18. Pingback: Brussels Sprout & Ginger Slaw | Things My Belly Likes

  19. Pingback: Roasted Radish & Tarragon Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  20. Pingback: Curried Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  21. Pingback: Baked Chicken Goujons with Garlic Lime Dipping Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  22. Pingback: The Best Tuna Salad. Ever. | Things My Belly Likes

  23. Pingback: Remoulade Sauce (dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  24. Pingback: Citrus Slaw | Things My Belly Likes

  25. Pingback: Guacamole Bacon Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  26. Pingback: Curried Cauliflower & Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  27. Pingback: Moroccan-Spiced Plantain Fries | Things My Belly Likes

  28. Pingback: Mint & Cumin Dip | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

