Patatas Bravas

patatas bravas, not to be confused with patatas alioli which is a whole different kettle of fish...or potatoes

patatas bravas, not to be confused with patatas alioli which is a whole different kettle of fish…or potato

I’m currently trying to learn Spanish (with admittedly mixed results).

The brilliant (and free!) online course I’m taking has just reached the giddy heights of the restaurant section where a man with a funny accent says things like: “I would like a glass of water with my potatoes,” and “Where is the waiter? I want some shrimp.”

the all-important tomato mixture

the all-important tomato mixture

Naturally all this talk of potatoes and shrimp inspired me to get cooking some proper Spanish food. The only time I’ve ever had proper Spanish food was in Barcelona.

We ordered a bundle of tapas (without actually knowing what they were) and, sure enough, patatas bravas appeared….along with some weird squid thing that we all agreed to never mention again.

Spain meets Ireland!

Spain meets Ireland!

I think that stuff (PB, not weird squid) is mandatory in Spain, like there’s a law insisting that all citizens serve PB at every meal.

Personally speaking, I’d have no problem with that. You can’t go wrong with spicy potatoes in a tomato sauce.

they were a spicy mama!

que rico!

I served them with some thick cut sausages. Not really very Spanish but there was no chorizo on hand.

And, of course, I tried to speak Spanish the entire meal (which turned out to be very confusing as neither hubs nor Dog know Spanish).

Patatas Bravas (serves 2-3)

  • 4 small potatoes, diced (I used organic buttercream but any small variety would do)
  • 2 tbsps butter, melted
  • 1 cup chopped tomatoes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 red chilis
  • 2 tsps parsley (dried or fresh and finely chopped)
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  1. Heat the oven to 400F. Put the butter on a deep baking tray or casserole dish and heat in the oven until it starts to foam.
  2. Toss in the potato cubes, smoosh them around to make sure they are coated with the butter, season generously and return to the oven. Roast for 15 minutes.
  3. Remove and stir in the rest of the ingredients. Return to the oven for a further 30 minutes until the potatoes are crispy. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

3 thoughts on “Patatas Bravas

  1. These look incredibly tasty. I tried to learn Spanish from a podcast series once, and it actually went really well! I just eventually lost steam since I had no one to practice with. Next year I’ll have an hour-long commute, so maybe that’ll be the time to learn how to order delicious food like this in a restaurant!
    Alicia

Leave a Reply

