Raspberry & Sour Cream Muffins

I used to collect raspberries from the hedges near my home when I was little

I used to collect raspberries from the hedges near my home when I was little

I’m going on a much-needed trip home to Ireland next month.

That has nothing to do with these muffins but I’m so excited that I keep casually dropping it into conversation.

double the recipe if you've a big family - these only make 8 small muffins

double the recipe if you’ve a big family – these only make 8 small muffins

Did I also mention that I’m going to see my sister?! My sister…who I haven’t seen in two years. Two damn years!

Ahem…

did you know, you can get yellow raspberries. Clearly the work of satan

did you know you can get yellow raspberries?! Clearly the work of satan

Back to these muffins. As you can probably guess from the title, they are incredibly moist. When baking with coconut flour you have to ramp up the moisture as it can get a little dense.

Juicy raspberries and smooth sour cream do the job nicely.

FYI – for more guidance check out these tips for baking with coconut flour.

the trick is to add the wet stuff very gradually, stirring between each addition and adding more when it thickens

the trick is to add the wet stuff very gradually, stirring between each addition and adding more when it thickens

These held up well the next day (breakfast), the day after that (mid-afternoon snack) and the day after that (post-evening meal treat).

I might even make a few for the plane journey home (…aaand we’re back to talking about my HOLIDAYS).

I recommend them for breakfast

I recommend them for breakfast

Raspberry & Sour Cream Muffins (makes 8 small muffins)

  • 1/4 cup coconut flour, plus a tbsp
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 tbsps sour cream
  • 3 tbsps honey
  • 1/2 cup raspberries
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  1. Whisk the eggs, honey, vanilla, lemon, sour cream and butter together.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour into a large bowl. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring until it forms a runny batter.
  3. Fold in the raspberries.
  4. Spoon into a greased muffin tray. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes.

Like this? You might also like:

*This post was also shared at Party Wave Wednesday

26 thoughts on “Raspberry & Sour Cream Muffins

  1. I cannot eat raspberries/blackberries. The seeds and my teeth have agreed to disagree. So I wonder how some cut-up strawberries would fare? Probably good. I’ll try it like that.

      • The cakes look amazing but appear, even though I buttered the he’ll out of the pans that the cakes aren’t popping out of the pans 😦 any tricks/suggestions?

      • Ugh frustrating, I’ve been there Amber 😦 Nowadays I coat my muffins tins in a layer of coconut oil and they always seem to spring out easily. Perhaps you’re not using enough grease? Perhaps it’s a good excuse to splurge on a new muffin tin? This might also help.

  2. This looks amazing, but I was wondering if there is a non-dairy substitute for the sour cream? Or if I could just leave it out? Thanks 🙂

      • Thanks for your suggestion 🙂 I’m looking forward to trying this recipe, need to buy a muffin tin first lol (I only a mini muffin tin)

  3. Pingback: Very Berry Chocolate Cakes | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Seared Peaches with Spiced Sour Cream | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Mocha Mini Muffins | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Raspberry Cinnamon Jam | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

