Dark Chocolate Brownies with Strawberry Goat Cheese Swirl

eat ALL THE BROWNIES!

eat ALL THE BROWNIES!

A few months ago, I met a man who owned three goats.

The first he bought from someone at a market, the remaining two he’d found hiding in a cave on an isolated Caribbean island, roped them up, put them on a boat and brought them back to his home.

this is not his goat, I met this guy at my local farmers' market and we are now BFFs

this is not his goat, I met this guy at my local farmers’ market and we are now BFFs

All three were lovely, fuzzy, friendly creatures and not at all what I expected of goats (I always thought they were cranky, ornery beasts).

brownies for dinner!

they are even better chilled in the fridge

He was quite clearly besotted by them and it was reciprocal – every time he came near the entrance to their pen, they’d run forward and nuzzle his legs through the gate.

A-freakin’-dorable.

wait until they're cool before cutting, or you run the risk of smooging them everywhere (yes, that's a word)

wait until they’re cool before cutting, or you run the risk of smooging them everywhere (yes, that’s a word)

So now I want a goat.

And if I had a goat I’d make these all the time because, hot damn, they’re good.

Even hubs was a fan and he is not a lover of goats cheese. It just goes to show – coat anything in chocolate and my husband will eat it.

Anyone know any good recipes for mackerel and chocolate?

goat's cheese has never been more delicious

goat’s cheese has never been more delicious

Dark Chocolate Brownies with Strawberry Goat Cheese Swirl (makes 24)

*adapted from thekitchn.com

  • 100g dark chocolate (I used Green & Black’s 85% because I adore that stuff)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 5 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 6 oz whole strawberries, hulled and slightly mashed (I used frozen and let them defrost first)

For the swirl topping:

  • 4 oz goat’s cheese (softened at room temp)
  • 4 oz cream cheese (softened at room temp)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbsps honey
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  1. Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate, butter and honey together until smooth. Remove from heat and let cool.
  2. Stir in the vanilla extract and beat in the eggs, one at a time.
  3. Sieve the coconut flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir (don’t over stir or your batter will be too dry – add the wet ingredients very gradually). Fold in half the strawberries and set aside.
  4. Using an electric whisk, beat together the goat cheese, cream cheese, egg, honey and butter until fluffy and smooth. Fold in the remaining strawberries.
  5. Pour the brownie batter into a 9in x 13in greased or lined baking tray. Swirl the topping mixture on top. Bake at 375 for 20 minutes.
  6. Let cool completely before cutting and serving.

Like this? You might also like:

9 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Brownies with Strawberry Goat Cheese Swirl

  1. When I was growing up our goats were cranky and mean. Maybe it has to do with the breed. Those goats are cute, ours were not. My Mom certainly treated our goats with love they were just like angry old men….

  2. As kids we visited a farm with my brothers. The goats were running around in an enclosure. They somehow managed to escape and started jumping all over us..
    Since then I am scared of goats! Maybe your new BFF was lucky or it’s a different breed?
    I would never have thought to use goat cheese in a sweet recipe, interesting.

  3. Cat! These look divine! May have to bring these to the next potluck just so I don’t eat the whole pan myself 😉 Thank you for sharing! ♥ Dawn

  4. When I was a ‘kid’ (haha) we had a pet goat and he was so gentle and loving so I thought all goats were. Then when I lived in a Greek village for a year, there were goats all over the place and I found out (the hard way) that these were not cute and loving but angry, head butting Greek goats (should have known!) – anyway these brownies sound wonderful – great job 🙂 🙂

  5. Pingback: Strawberry Cobbler | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

