Asparagus, Green Pea & Bacon Soup

don't be put off by the sludgy colour, it's delish..honest

don’t be put off by the sludgy colour, it’s delish..honest

I stole someone’s shopping trolley at the supermarket last week.*

In my defence it was genuinely an accident and I was mortified when I realised.

The mishap occurred when I ditched my trolley to dart up one of the aisles (I’m a trolley leaver, I hate having to push the damn bulky thing around). I returned, ย arms full of asparagus, and dumped the veggies in without checking it was the right trolley.

warning: stinky pee may result

warning: stinky pee may result

Twenty minutes later I arrived at the checkout, began unpacking my bounty and realised, with mounting horror, that I didn’t recognise most of what was in the cart.

It seems trivial now but I just about shrank into my hoodie at the time. I was forced to retrace my steps all the way back to the fresh produce section, reclaim my cart (which was still there, forlornly abandoned) and then transfer everything back into it.

simmering nicely

simmering nicely

I never did find out whose trolley I purloined so I’m sending out a general apology. Sorry random stranger.

Why don’t you come round for dinner one night? I’ll feed you this wholesome spring soup and enough wine so that you forgive me and we can laugh about it.

you could also top with cheese

you could also top with cheese

*For all the American readers, “shopping trolley” = “grocery cart” and “supermarket = “store”

Asparagus, Green Pea & Bacon Soup (serves 2-3)

  • 1 med bunch asparagus, trimmed
  • 4 slices/rashers streaky bacon
  • 1/2 large white onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 cup peas (frozen or fresh, just make sure they’re defrosted if using frozen)
  • 1/2 cup milk or cream (optional)
  1. Fry the bacon in a large, wide-bottomed pan until crispy, remove with a slotted spoon and set aside to cool. When cool chop into small pieces.
  2. Saute the garlic and onion in the same pan (you want to get them sizzling in the leftover bacon fat) for a few minutes until the onion turns golden. Stir in the asparagus and peas.
  3. Pour in the stock and bring to a boil. Cover and turn down the heat. Let simmer for 20 minutes.
  4. Take the pan off the heat and, using a hand blender, process the soup until smooth. Season according to taste and stir in the milk/cream if using.
  5. Stir in the bacon bits and serve.

Like this? You might also like:

9 thoughts on “Asparagus, Green Pea & Bacon Soup

  1. Ahhhh…a kindred spirit – I’ve done exactly the same thing and the spooky thing is – I left my trolley to run off and get asparagus so, I blame the asparagus….your soup sounds and looks wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Mmmm. Asparagus! Fresh peas aren’t quite in season here (and I really don’t eat them – they’re legumes and off my standard list). Looks like a yummy soup. I bet it would be good with spinach instead.

    We do say supermarket. Also grocery store. Sometimes you just hear grocery, but that sounds kind of old fashioned.

    And we say shopping cart, grocery cart is rare but sometimes heard. Shopping basket is mostly used for a rigid plastic basket, but sometimes refers to a cart too.

    Or at least this is what I say, having grown up in New York City and lived in Upstate New York (across Lake Erie from Toronto), San Francisco and Seattle. Terms might vary a bit in the South, but I don’t think they do in this case.

    I don’t think I’ve ever walked off with someone else’s cart, but I’ve definitely mislaid mine and wasted quite a bit of time looking for it.

    • Thanks…sometimes things get lost in translation and, since I’ve travelled a bit and married a Canadian, so much of my slang is now Irish/UK/Canadian/US that I’m starting to forget what I originally sounded like!

  3. Pingback: Spring Greens & Pea Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Roasted Carrots & Peas | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

