Chicken & Bacon Burgers

ours were topped with carmelised onions!

ours were topped with carmelised onions!

When I was little (and…ahem..heavier than I should’ve been) my family used to frequent a certain restaurant. Every time we went I’d order the ‘Roadside Burger’.

This was a giant slab of breaded chicken, bacon, cheese and fried onions slathered in some sort of sweet BBQ sauce and stuck in a bun. I was addicted.

pre-frying

pre-frying

Looking back, I realise it was the heady combination of fried food and a whole heap of sugary tomato sauce but, in my childish innocence, I really thought I’d discovered heaven on a plate. And it was glorious.

I wouldn’t dream of eating such a concoction now (*gasp* the gluten!)…but that doesn’t stop me from trying to give it a healthy spin with this flavourful chicken burger studded with salty bacon bits.

served with parsnip and carrot fries, for extra healthiness!

served with parsnip and carrot fries, for extra healthiness!

UPDATE: Curious, and wanting a trip down memory lane, I idly checked online to see if the restaurant is still open. Not only is it still operating, the Roadside Burger is still on the menu. They’ve been serving that thing for 20 years! Ahh the nostalgia.

Chicken & Bacon Burgers (makes 4 burgers)

  • 12 oz ground chicken
  • 3 rashers/slices streaky bacon
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground thyme
  • 1 tsp tarragon
  1. Fry the bacon until crispy, remove from pan (don’t wash the pan – preserve the bacon grease, you’ll need it later!) and let cool. Slice into small pieces.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, combine the chicken, bacon bits and the rest of the ingredients. Stir well. Grab about a handful and form into a fist-sized patty (it should make four). Cover and put in the fridge to chill for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Fry the burgers in the bacon greased pan for about 8 minutes each side until browned. Serve immediately.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Chicken & Bacon Burgers

  1. Pingback: Spicy Turkey Burgers with Lime Cilantro Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: How To Prepare French Fried Chicken | How To Bake

  3. Pingback: Jalapeno & Garbanzo Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Baconnaise | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Parmesan Chicken Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

