Easter Recipe Round-Up

are they made of chocolate too?

are they made of chocolate too?

When I was little Easter Sunday meant a long morning in church followed by a pleasing game of How-Many-Chocolate-Eggs-Can-We-Eat-Before-Becoming-Violently-Ill.

My brother excelled at this game. To this day he can put away six Cadbury’s Creme Eggs in a single sitting, and then calmly sit down to a meal. That’s dedication for you.

While I don’t advise all-out binging this Easter, it is typically a dessert-laden holiday.

Lucky for you, I’ve tirelessly scoured the internet to help you make sure it’s also a healthy holiday.

Hopefully some of these recipes and links will give you some ideas for a fun, creative and tasty Easter weekend.

Chocolatey goodness

As disloyal as it sounds, I wish I’d had parents like Paleo Parents when I was little. Anyone who makes chocolate easter eggs with a nut butter filling gets a big thumbs-up from my younger self (and my younger belly which could put away a lot more dessert than the current version).

These delicious-looking chocolate covered figs from Meghan Telpner of The Undiet Cookbook fame are a unique alternative to the usual solid chocolate fare. And they’re kinda egg-shaped. If you squint a bit.

decadent and good (photo courtesy Meghan Telpner)

decadent and good (photo courtesy Meghan Telpner)

If I still lived with my brother I’d be tempted to try him on these Homemade Cadbury Creme Eggs by Primally Inspired. Unlike the originals, they’re made with (surprisingly few) real food ingredients like coconut oil, honey and dark chocolate.

They’re not chocolate but these Raw Easter Macaroon Nests do fall into the candy category, and they make me happy so they’re included. The ‘nest’ is made of coconut lime macaroon and the ‘eggs’ are delightful balls of strawberry cream. Genius.

aren't they gorgeous? (photo courtesy Fragrant Vanilla Cake)

aren’t they gorgeous? (photo courtesy Fragrant Vanilla Cake)

Pimp your eggs

Chocolate eggs are great and all, but if you’re sticking to the ones that, y’know, come from actual chickens check out the Kitchn’s comprehensive list of all-natural vegetable dyes. This handy guide tells you how to create red, lavender, blue, orange and yellow from stuff you probably already have in the cupboards.

anyone else think they look like snooker balls? (photo courtesy the kitchn)

anyone else think they look like snooker balls? (photo courtesy the kitchn)

Nourishing Our Children also has a long list of natural dyes (complete with four different blues!). Between them and the Kitchn, you’re bound to find the exact shade you’re after….’deep gold’ anyone?

Strictly Paleo-ish has gone one better than ordinary household dyes with Chinese Marbled Eggs. The weird spiderweb design freaks me out, but in a good way.

Devilled eggs get a makeover at Low So Paleo where they become adorable tiny chicks. It’s a bit fiddly but I love this idea.

tiny baby chickens for my belly! (photo courtesy Low So Paleo)

tiny baby chickens for my belly! (photo courtesy Low So Paleo)

Seasonal fare

Easter’s not just about eggs and chocolate (although those things are awesome), it’s also about enjoying what’s in season. And Here We Are has a Persian Spring Lamb Stew with Rhubarb and Mint that has me drooling and looking at baby sheep in a whole new way.

I'm salivating just looking at it (photo courtesy And Here We Are)

I’m salivating just looking at it (photo courtesy And Here We Are)

And, finally, what’s Easter without soft, sweet, hot cross buns?! Paleo Mom has a yummy gluten/grain-free version but you’ll need a bread machine for ’em. If you don’t have a bread machine lying around, opt for these buns from GoFitness which are made with almond flour.

That’s it from me folks. In view of it being a holiday weekend and the fact that I am turning pale from lack of sunlight, I’ll not be posting again until Tuesday. I hope everyone has a wonderful Easter.

See you in April!

3 thoughts on “Easter Recipe Round-Up

Leave a Reply

