Sweet n’ Sour Turkey Meatloaf

urgh, asparagus. I love your health benefits, I do not love your taste

urgh, asparagus. I love your health benefits, I do not love your taste

Do you remember all the controversy over ‘pink slime’ in processed meals like nuggets and burgers last year?

Well that’s what I was thinking of when making this meatloaf. Not that there’s anything unsavoury in it (no horse, promise!) but ground turkey is…well….a bit gross looking.

pink slime!

see?!

When I was younger, the appearance of my food was a real sticking point.

I remember going out for a meal with my family once, and my brother ordered the fish.

the glaze

the glaze

When the fish arrived (I forget what it was…probably trout, we love a good rainbow trout in Ireland), it was perfectly grilled, succulent and delicately seasoned.

There was just one problem – it also came with gills, tails and head attached. My brother proceeded to calmly slice off the head, slide it over onto a side dish and turn it around so the cold, dead fishy eyes were staring directly at me.

smearing on the glaze

smearing on the glaze

It was the longest meal of my life. Those empty eyes stared at me over every bite and I refused to eat fish for years afterwards.

What was the point of this tale? Oh yes, my point is that appearances can be deceptive and kids miss out on a lot of great nutrition simply by shunning stuff that is ‘icky’.

buy organic to avoid horrible icky things lurking in your turkey

buy organic to avoid horrible icky things lurking in your turkey

This meatloaf isn’t the prettiest meal on the table but it’s tasty, full of real food and made with love.

Sweet n’ Sour Turkey Meatloaf (serves 2-3)

  • 12 oz ground turkey
  • 1/4 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp parsley
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seeds
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsps maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  1. Mix together the turkey, onion, garlic, parsley, egg and flax seeds. Season well. Tip into a greased or lined loaf tin.
  2. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes.
  3. While it’s baking, prepare the sweet and sour glaze by whisking together the tomato paste, vinegar, maple syrup and mustard together in a saucepan over a low heat. Bring it to a simmer and remove from the heat.
  4. Remove the loaf from the oven, pour over the glaze and put back into the oven for a further 10-15 minutes. Serve.

Like this? You might also like:

12 thoughts on “Sweet n’ Sour Turkey Meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Sweet n’ Sour Turkey Meatloaf

  2. I’m big time down with this. We’ve got some ground turkey in the freezer that’s beggin’ for some cookin’. Plus, I’ve been craving turkey and meatloaf for a while now. I’m slowly edging off the veganism and into eating lean turkey and fish every now and then.

    Thanks for the comfort food recipe! It’s still super cold in Chicago and the Spring food fare hasn’t quite kicked in yet.

  3. Asparagus is delicious if prepared right! Looks like they’re steamed here. Try just drizzling in evoo, adding seasalt and some pepper, and grilling, broiling, or pan frying it. Delicious!
    Trying this meatloaf recipe tonight:)

  4. Pingback: Spicy Turkey Burgers with Lime Cilantro Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: 40 Paleo Meatloaf Recipes without Bread Crumbs | Paleo Grubs

  6. Pingback: Buffalo & Bacon Meatloaf | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Bobotie (South African Meatloaf) | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Paleo Meatloaf Recipes: The Best 49 Recipes arranged by categories

  9. Pingback: Asian Turkey Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Szechuan Chicken Stir-fry | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

