Parsnip & Walnut Cake

fun fact: parsnips are sweeter after the first frost

fun fact: parsnips are sweeter after the first frost

Mondays are hard. This is why I like to usher them in with a healthy dose of cake.

It’s one of my abiding life philosophies that all things can be borne if you have a belly full of cake.

even funner fact: parsnips can be eaten raw, as well as cooked

even funner fact: parsnips can be eaten raw, as well as cooked

But, lest you think I’m promoting guzzling white flour creations on a daily basis, it has to be the right sort of cake.

in case you're wondering it does taste slightly of parsnips, but in a good way - sweet, moist and nutty

in case you’re wondering it does taste slightly of parsnips, but in a good way – sweet, moist and nutty

I’m up to my usual tricks here (I do love shoving root vegetables in my desserts) and adding finely grated parsnips to coconut flour, a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg and some walnut pieces for the crunch.

goes well with a good cup of Earl Grey

goes well with a good cup of Earl Grey

And, if you’re standing on the precipice of a particularly hard week, I’d advise adding a nutmeg cream cheese frosting.

Parsnip & Walnut Cake (makes one loaf)

*adapted from the Irish Countrywomen’s Association Cookbook

  • 1 1/3 cups finely grated parsnip (this was about 2 parsnips for me)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  1. Whisk together the eggs, butter, vanilla and honey. Stir in the grated parsnip.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour, spices and baking powder into a large mixing bowl.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring gently after each addition (ie stir until it gets ‘sticky’ then add more wet stuff). You should end up with a semi-runny batter.
  4. Fold in the walnuts then spoon everything into a greased or lined 9×11 in loaf tin.
  5. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes, let cool before removing from tin.

Like this? You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Parsnip & Walnut Cake

  1. Oh my gosh – this looks like such a healthy cake recipe. It is definitely going into my “try” pile. I had such wonderful success with my beet cake that I’m positive I’ll like this one too, maybe even better – thanks for posting!

  2. Pingback: Parsnip and walnut cake. | hearts unmapped

  3. Pingback: Roasted Beet and Fennel Puree | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Curried Parsnip & Squash Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Cassava, Coconut & Lime Pudding | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

