Guinness Chocolate Cake

yes, that fork-full was mine

yes, that fork-full was mine

It is very important – and I cannot stress this enough – that you resist the temptation to imbibe while making this cake.

I speak from experience  – it started with: “oh I’ll just finish off the leftover Guinness, no point in letting it go flat!”, took a slight detour past: “I have to taste the batter…how else will I know if it’s good?” and ended up quite tipsy when it came to the frosting.

[but that’s a tale for another time]

that's a big piece yes, I shared it with Dog (not really)

that’s a big piece yes but I shared it with Dog (not really)

This cake started as kind of a challenge to myself. While there are plenty of Guinness chocolate cake recipes out there (here and here if you’re interested), there is not, to my knowledge, a coconut flour Guinness chocolate cake.

fresh from the oven!

fresh from the oven!

It speaks to the perverse side of my nature that I wanted to create a gluten-free cake with coconut flour…and then add beer.

Yes, I’m sure my Nobel Prize for Daring Invention in the Culinary Field is in the mail.

note: this is not a cake that rises, it is not as tall as your standard cake so double up if you want some height to it

note: this is not a cake that rises, it is not as tall as your standard cake so double up if you want some height to it

What the hey, it’s the end of my week of St Paddy’s Day themed recipes and I wanted to go out with a bang.

It totally worked too. You can only slightly taste the Guinness but you get a rich, dark, velvety chocolate taste that suggests the stout worked its magic.

where did that Guinness bottle come from?! Ahem...

where did that Guinness bottle come from?! Ahem…

After tasting it I have vowed to make it for every holiday, not just the Irish-themed ones.

Guinness Chocolate Cake

NB: For the avocado frosting click here

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4 oz dark chocolate (I used 60%)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup full fat, plain yoghurt
  • 1 cup Guinness
  1. Melt the chocolate, butter and honey together. Let cool then beat in the yoghurt, eggs, one at a time, and stir in the vanilla essence.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour and cocoa powder into a large bowl.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, a little at a time and stirring with each addition (don’t over stir or your batter will chunk up).
  4. Pour in the Guinness (it will fizz, that’s ok) and stir until it becomes a thick, runny batter. Pour into a greased 9in springform cake pan.
  5. Bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes until firm.
  6. Remove and let cool completely before taking out of the tin and frosting.

Like this? You might also like:

12 thoughts on “Guinness Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: A St Patrick’s Day Feast (Guinness Chocolate Cake, Dublin Coddle, Colcannon and more!) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

