The Irish Are Coming!

mmm, just like my childhood dinners

mmm, just like my childhood dinners

Brothers are great aren’t they?! I especially love their habit of remembering all those moments you’d rather forget…

I was on the phone with mine the other week and he very kindly sent me a photo (we were on Skype) that should never again see the light of day.

It was of the two of us, a few years ago, preparing for a St Patrick’s Day party (at least I hope we were, the idea that we’d be attired like that for daily life is horrifying). I wore a bright green Irish rugby shirt and what is best described as a luridly green cowboy hat (yes, there are no Irish cowboys, but it was green so whatever).

actually there's some English in there, but whatever

actually there’s some English in there, but whatever

Judging by our posture, the camera had caught us about to launch into some kind of jig. Basically I looked like a confused leprechaun* doing a deep squat.

[and no, I am not reposting the photo here]

a word to the wise: do not go kissing strangers today, or any other day

a word to the wise: do not go kissing strangers today, or any other day

Anyway, that image (burned onto my retinas as it is) made me homesick and ashamed all at the same time. It’s this time of year that homesickness hurts the most. Holidays are for family and holidays that celebrate my wonderful country are a particular joy.

At my house joy and love are essential ingredients of every meal and, as you might have noticed, I’ve been cooking Irish-themed recipes all week this week in honour of Shamrock Day. Tomorrow’s a doozy so don’t forget to tune in.

And have a lovely St Patrick’s Day weekend and, whether you celebrate the holiday or not, don’t forget to celebrate your family.

WARNING: contains a naughty word (although this warning is probably redundant as I imagine you've read it already)

WARNING: contains a naughty word (although this warning is probably redundant as I imagine you’ve read it already)

Weigh in: what are you doing for St Pats? Do you have any favourite Irish dishes? What’s your take on the humble spud? Am I offensively perpetuating the Irish stereotype or is it ok because I’m Irish (and ginger too! I get all kinds of leeway) ?

*don’t auto-correct my spelling of ‘leprechaun’ WordPress! I’m Irish dammit, I was born knowing how to spell ‘leprechaun’..and ‘potato’.

5 thoughts on “The Irish Are Coming!

  1. Oooh! I’m curious to see the recipe you have for tomorrow!
    The Mr. and myself have grand plans of making some hearty Irish stew on Sunday to celebrate. And possibly meet up with friends for a brew so long as we don’t stay up too late. Why are doing St. Patty’s on a Sunday again? 😉

Leave a Reply

