Crusted Rack of Lamb

from farm to table, with a slight detour overseas and by way of our freezer

from farm to table, with a slight detour overseas and by way of our freezer

This recipe comes straight from the Irish Countrywomen’s Association (ICA) so I thought it fitting for my St Paddy’s Day countdown.

It really doesn’t get more Irish than the ICA (and no, I’m not a member in case you were wondering). The recipe comes with a charming side note about how the author’s father kills his own lambs so you just know they’re using authentic Irish lambs…tasty.

I’ve never cooked lamb before.

in my defence, it's all weird and toothy looking....ugh

in my defence, it’s all weird and toothy looking….ugh

There, I said it. I never claimed to be a chef, just an ordinary home cook. Sadly that means certain ingredients won’t make it to this blog – either because they’re unavailable, my family won’t eat ’em or they’re too expensive.

Lamb fell into the latter category until we discovered we could buy wholesale New Zealand lamb from the island’s biggest food importer. Happy days.

So now I’m flexing my culinary muscles and starting with this delightful recipe. Straight from an Irish country home to your kitchen and mine.

Crusted Rack of Lamb (serves 2-3)

*adapted from The Irish Countrywomen’s Assocation Cookbook

  • 1 rack of lamb (8 cutlets)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp yellow mustard
  • 1 cup almonds (ground to a breadcrumb consistency)
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped rosemary
  • 1 tsp lemon zest, grated
  1. Score the fat of the lamb and rub in a generous helping of sea salt and black pepper. Place on a roasting tray and bake at 400 for 10 minutes.
  2. While the lamb is cooking, melt the butter and oil in a saucepan. Add the shallot and gently fry it over a low heat until translucent. Add the almonds, lemon zest and herbs. Mix well.
  3. Remove the lamb from the oven and smear it with mustard. Pack on the almond mixture (I found it easiest to use my hands to smooth it down but be careful as the meat is hot).
  4. Return to oven for a further 30-35 minutes, depending on how well done you like your lamb.

Like this? You might also like:

14 thoughts on “Crusted Rack of Lamb

  1. I haven’t cooked much lamb before either, and when I do, it’s either shoulder cut into chunks for kebabs or ground lamb for my green sliders. This rack of lamb looks fantastic though. I’m pretty frugal but if I could get a good deal, I’d love to try this recipe! Happy St. Patty’s Day from my kitchen to yours!

  2. Pingback: Pesto Crusted Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Pimp Your Broth: 6 Tips To Take Your Broth From Good to Great | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Spicy Mint Rack of Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Roast Lamb Gremolata | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Raspberry Marinated Rack of Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Italian Stuffed Lamb | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

