Guinness & Sweet Potato Chili

if you're ok with gluten I'd serve it with crusty fresh bread

if you’re ok with gluten I’d serve it with crusty fresh bread

St Patrick’s Day has come early to TMBL.

All this week, I’ll be posting Irish-themed recipes as a sort of ‘St Patrick’s Day countdown’ to the big event (which is on Sunday 17th).

delicious..and beery

delicious..and beery

For those of you that don’t know: I’m Irish (shocker, right?!). But I don’t live there anymore and there’s nothing more patriotic than an Irish person who’s not in Ireland. We’re funny like that.

So I’m uncorking my Guinness* and settling in for some tastes of home.

You’ll note that this chili doesn’t contain beans. I’ve swopped in sweet potatoes instead (white would also work fine here).

40 years ago, when my neighbour was pregnant, the doctor told her to drink a glass of Guinness a day

40 years ago when my neighbour was pregnant, the doctor told her to drink a glass of Guinness a day to get more iron

Because if there’s one thing that reminds me of home it’s Guinness and potatoes. The cornerstone of every good meal.

*the sharp-eyed among you will know that I generally eat gluten-free. However I make an exception now and then for a Guinness, it’s my kryptonite and hey, what’s life without the 80/20 rule?!

Guinness & Sweet Potato Chili (serves 3-4)

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 4 rashers/slices streaky bacon
  • 1/2 large, white onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tsps cumin
  • 2 tsps paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1 cup guinness
  • 1 medium sweet (or white) potato, peeled and diced
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped
  • a handful spinach leaves
  • 1 pt cherry tomatoes
  • 8 oz tomato paste
  1. Fry the bacon in a large saucepan until crispy. Remove with a slotted spoon, preserving the precious bacon grease. Cut the bacon into inch size pieces when cooled and set aside.
  2. Add the onion, garlic and ground beef to the still-warm bacon fat. Cook over a medium heat for five minutes, breaking up the beef, until the meat browns.
  3. Add the sweet potatoes and green pepper.
  4. Mix in the tomatoes, tomato paste and spices. Stir well.
  5. Pour in the Guinness and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat until it simmers. Let it bubble gently for 40 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  6. Just before serving, stir in the spinach and bacon bits (preserving a little of the bacon to sprinkle over the top).

Like this? You might also like:

7 thoughts on “Guinness & Sweet Potato Chili

  1. Pingback: Turkey & Cilantro Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Happy (early) Cinco de Mayo! | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Beef & Plantain Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: A St Patrick’s Day Feast (Guinness Chocolate Cake, Dublin Coddle, Colcannon and more!) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

