Lime & Coconut Cake

yes, those are monster-sized slices. It's that good.

yes, those are monster-sized slices. It’s that good.

It’s been a while since I did some baking, and that’s a crying shame.

Don’t feel sorry for me though, it’s only because the weather is so good on my Caribbean island (I feel guilty indoors baking when the sun is blazing outside).

it's really more of a loaf than a cake but you get the idea

it’s really more of a loaf than a cake but you get the idea

But we had a rainy Sunday recently and I got to work on this beauty.

Judging by the comments I regularly get on this blog, coconut flour confounds some of you.

I sympathise.

slather with butter or jam and it's a party!

slather with butter or jam and it’s a party!

It takes a while to get the hang of this moisture-loving flour (really, it’s a post in itself). I advise adding wet ingredients to the flour very slowly.

I pour ’em in, give it a good stir until it thickens up (which takes a few seconds) and then add more. Pretty much the same technique as when you’re making a white sauce. If the batter starts to thicken to a lumpy dough, you’ve over-stirred (if that happens add a tbsp of milk to correct).

this is what my batter looked like

this is what my batter looked like

But don’t let that put you off. This is a delicious, sweet, tangy cake and is well worth the effort.

Besides, if my decades of cake-eating have taught me one thing it’s that practice makes perfect.

and I practice a lot

and I practice a lot

Lime & Coconut Cake (makes one loaf)

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour, sieved
  • 6 large eggs
  • 3 limes, zest and juice
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut (I used unsweetened), plus a tbsp
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted (or coconut oil)
  • 1 tsp coconut palm sugar (or any dark sugar)
  1. Whisk together the eggs, maple syrup and butter (once it’s cool).
  2. In a separate bowl mix together the lime juice and zest. Add this to the eggs, reserving a tbsp of the lime juice.
  3. Gradually add the egg mixture to the coconut flour. Stir between each addition to ensure the batter is the right consistency (you want it semi-runny).
  4. Fold in the shredded coconut and then spoon the batter into a greased or lined 9in loaf tin.
  5. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes. While it’s baking mix together the remaining lime juice with the coconut palm sugar.
  6. Remove loaf from oven, make shallow slits in the top and pour over the lime juice. Sprinkle over a tbsp of shredded coconut and put back in the oven for ten minutes.
  7. Let cool before removing from tin and cutting.

Like this? You might also like:

14 thoughts on “Lime & Coconut Cake

  1. Sweet mother of God! Just when I am thinking “huh, I could eat some zesty tangy coconuty thing” I get a msg from my inbox and like an angle of yummy flavor your wonderful bloggity appears and I am instantly happy and blissfully gathering ingredients to make whatever joyous creation you have shared. Your blog is hands down my favorite of all the blogs I follow, and your recipes never fail me or my ever thankful family. Now if I could just get you to throw some of that sunshine down my Canadian way my smile would be unwavering. You are awesome!

    • Diana, that is hands down one of the best comments I’ve ever received. You are a charmer 🙂 Thank you for your lovely comments (and enthusiastic ‘sweet mother of God’-ing which made me laugh my tea out my nose), I am so pleased that you like the recipes and enjoy the blog. Hope the lime cake works out for you, I’m currently on my fourth slice of the day but I have no shame when it comes to cake so that’s ok.
      You are the awesome one Diana, thanks again and here’s hoping you get some sunny spring weather soon!

  2. Pingback: Baking with Coconut Flour: 5 Tips | Things My Belly Likes

  3. I just wanted to thank you for this amazing recipe! My naturopath has put me on a no gluten, dairy, sugar ( I can have natural sugars), fructose and soy diet. I have been craving cake and looking everywhere for a recipe that I can use with no luck..and then I found your blog..I loved the name of your blog, so I thought I’d give it a go! Amazing…I used coconut oil and raw sugar…but oh my gosh..so good. And my family & friends enjoyed it too! Thank you for sharing, from me and my belly!
    P.S I put a little almond milk in it to make it more runny..worked a treat.

  4. just wanted to thank you for this amazing recipe! My naturopath has put me on a no gluten, dairy, sugar ( I can have natural sugars), fructose and soy diet. I have been craving cake and looking everywhere for a recipe that I can use with no luck..and then I found your blog..I loved the name of your blog, so I thought I’d give it a go! Amazing…I used coconut oil and raw sugar…but oh my gosh..so good. And my family & friends enjoyed it too! Thank you for sharing, from me and my belly!
    P.S I put a little almond milk in it to make it more runny..worked a treat.

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Key Lime Cheesecake Bites (dairy-free!) | Things My Belly Likes

  6. I have trouble gauging how much lime juice to use as my tree produces HUGE limes. Are you able to give me an approximate cup measurement please? For the cake I currently have in the oven (30 minutes and counting) I only juiced 2 limes, so you can see my predicament. Your advice will be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Kaye

Leave a Reply

