Garlic Ketchup

did you know they put mayo on chips instead of ketchup in France?! horrifying, non?

did you know they put mayo on chips instead of ketchup in France?! horrifying, non?

Buy ketchup from the supermarket and you’ll likely get a heavy dose of high fructose corn syrup at worst, and plain white sugar at best.

As with most processed condiments, the label on a conventional ketchup bottle reads like a horror story.

stick it in an old ketchup bottle and your family will never know the difference

stick it in an old ketchup bottle and your family will never know the difference

But I’m not about to give up ketchup – what would life be like if I had to eat my chips…*gasp*…naked?! or my homemade beef burgers unadorned with a substantial dollop of delicious tomato-ey goodness?!

[shudder]

FYI - oregano oil is a potent natural antibiotic

FYI – oregano oil is a potent natural antibiotic

If you have ketchup-addicted kids, this is the sauce for you. It’s naturally sweetened with dates and given some delicious flavours with garlic and fresh oregano.

it's rich, so a little goes a long way

it’s rich, so a little goes a long way

Serve it up with homemade fries and you’re on to a winner.

Garlic Ketchup (makes about 2 cups)

  • 6 dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 6 oz tomato paste
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp fresh oregano leaves, very finely chopped
  1. Blend the water and dates together.
  2. Pour into a small saucepan, add the other ingredients and gently heat until the mixture is simmering. Whisking occasionally.
  3. Remove from the heat, let cool and store in the fridge for up to a week.

Like this? You might also like:

22 thoughts on “Garlic Ketchup

  1. I found myself out of ketchup when I was cooking burgers and oven fries for 120 kids in the mountains last summer. AHHHH…..could you just see their little faces and I told them I had no ketchup. My assistant Mike and I just looked at each other in horror. It is a 45 minute drive to the nearest store….what to do? Then I said “lets make ketchup!” Mike said “you can do that?” I grabbed some delicious tomato paste, brown sugar etc and went to work. The ketchup was dark in color, sweet and sublime. I have never gone back to the bottled stuff…..

  2. With five kids who aren’t all that into it and a husband who doesn’t eat it we do not go through as much ketchup as one might think, but it is a must have item at times. It’s not unheard of for me to dip a fry from time to time, either 😉 I’ve been making my own as well, and still haven’t found “the one”. This one will be the next batch I make. Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Garlic Ketchup | Primal in Poole

  4. Pingback: Easy Homemade Mayo | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: BBQ Pork Burritos (gluten/grain-free) | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Zucchini & Avocado Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually recognise what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my website =). We can have a hyperlink exchange contract among us

  8. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to
    come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Great work!

  9. Pingback: Coconut Chicken Nuggets | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Moroccan-Spiced Plantain Fries | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

