Chunky Black Bean Hummus

it’s chunky but if you want it more spreadable, just add sour cream

It’s true that on occasion, when I’m feeling really really wild, I (whisper it)…eat beans!

Beans are a thing of controversy in the health sphere because there’s a camp that says: “put that baked bean DOWN, step away from the bean!” because they believe them to be full of anti-nutrients and unnecessary carbs.

But the pro-bean lobby argue they are a staple of any well-rounded diet, pointing to their high folate, fibre and protein content.

What’s a girl to do?!

look at my mini-blender! Marvel at its cuteness!

In my case, fit them into the diet in small quantities and always always prepare them properly.

By that I mean soaking thoroughly to make them more digestible.

There are so many other battles to fight when it comes to food (ensuring the total obliteration of fast food outlets for one) that I’m not going to quibble over a measly bean. I am a firm believer in flexibility when it comes to your health, and I listen to my body.

the skin of a black bean is particularly rich in flavonoids. Or so the internet tells me

When I eat beans it generally says: “ok, that went down fine, go about your merry way” and so I do.

Chunky Black Bean Hummus (makes about a cup and a half)

  • 1 1/2 cups black turtle beans, pre-soaked and cooked
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 2 tbsps lime juice
  • 1 bird’s eye chili, de-seeded (unless you like it really fiery, in which case keep the seeds)
  • 4 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  1. Blend all the ingredients together in a food processor.
  2. Refridgerate until needed (it will keep in the fridge for up to a week).

Like this? You might also like:

9 thoughts on “Chunky Black Bean Hummus

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Soaking them properly is a good way to fight ill effects of beans, another is to smash them when applicable and smashing won’t kill the recipe. This will be a great variance to refried beans too. Thank you Ms. Cat.

  2. I agree with you completely on being flexible in your diet and nixing processed foods (not beans). I was so surprised to learn that the paleo diet outlaws beans. Preparing beans is indeed important. Did you ever read my explosive post on beans (Behind Mr. Bean’s Back Door)? I too newly posted a hummus recipe! Yours is completely different. Must try!
    http://cookupastory.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/shooting-down-the-bad-guys-behind-mr-beans-back-door/

  3. Lately I’ve been craving beans, so this recipe is so timely! I usually am not bothered by them one way or another. It’s a seasonal thing…I’m sure our ancestors would have been flexible, too. But, yes, definitely soak and dump the water 🙂

  4. Pingback: Warm Parsnip Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Refried Black Beans | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Warm Sweet Potato Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Cashew & Paprika Hummus | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

